UBC men’s field hockey repeats as Premier Division champions


VANCOUVER – The UBC Thunderbirds won their second consecutive Vancouver Men’s Field Hockey League Premier Division title on Saturday afternoon, defeating the India Field Hockey Club in a penalty shootout at Wright Field.

All five UBC players scored on their shootout opportunities, as did the first four India Club players. But fifth and final shooter missed the net with his attempt, setting off a Thunderbirds celebration around goalkeeper Cam Munsie.

The play during regulation was just as exciting as UBC’s Arif Virjee opened the scoring with a field goal in the first half before India Club quickly replied. In the second half, Phil Allmark earned a penalty after being upended by the opposition goalkeeper. Teammate Oliver Scholfield converted on the ensuing shot to put the Thunderbirds 2-1.

India Club tied the match with less than a minute remaining, sending the game to a shootout with the score 2-2 after regulation.

Three of the UBC players, Scholfield, Matthew Sarmento and Paul Wharton, had a quick turnaround and left for Malaysia on Monday to join the Canadian men’s national team for the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, which will run April 5-12.