National Women’s Team has advanced to the semifinals

247
canada national womes hockey team

 

(ISN) – MALMÖ, Sweden – Canada’s National Women’s Team has advanced to the semifinals at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship after finishing second in Group A with a 2-1 record.

Canada will face the winner of the Finland-Switzerland quarter-final in Friday’s second semifinal (10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT), while the United States will meet the winner of the Russia-Sweden quarter-final in the other semifinal (6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT).

In preliminary round play, Canada lost 4-2 to the U.S. in its tournament opener before recording back-to-back wins, 4-0 over Russia and 6-2 over Finland, to clinch second place in the group.

All of Canada’s games, including Friday’s semifinal, are available on TSN and RDS, official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Please check your local listings for broadcast times in your area.

The medal games are scheduled for Saturday at Malmö Isstadion; the bronze medal game is set for 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT, followed by the gold medal game at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!