(ISN) – (FREDERICTON, N.B.) Hockey player Philippe Maillet and soccer’s Sam Lagacy were named UNB’s male and female Athlete of the Year at the Varsity Reds annual Celebration of Excellence Awards Night at the Fredericton Playhouse.

A second-year student from Lachenaie, QC, Maillet won the men’s hockey scoring title in the very competitive AUS this years with 14 goals and 25 assists in 28 games played. He had an extremely impressive 17-game point streak – from Halloween to nearly the end of January. Maillet was named AUS MVP, and AUS First Team All-Star, the AUS playoff MVP, a CIS All-Canadian. He is also an Academic All-Canadian.

Also nominated for the James Downey Award as UNB’s top male athlete were Javon Masters (basketball) and Diego Padilha (soccer).

The Colin B. Mackay Shield for the top female athlete of the year went to soccer’s Sam Lagacy. A fifth-year student-athlete who is currently studying law at UNB, Lagacy was an AUS First Team All-Star and one of the league’s top scorers. Her career scoring record ties her for first in all-time leading scorers for UNB, with 20 goals. Her desire and pride in playing helped her team find the confidence to play to their full potential, finishing first in the AUS for the first time in the team’s 19-year history and winning their first ever playoff game. Lagacy is also an Academic All-Canadian.

Also nominated for the Colin B. Mackay Shield were Vanja Mitrovic (volleyball) and Kayla Painter (soccer).

The Varsity Reds were also pleased to be joined by members of the Copeland family, who travelled from across the United States to present the Garnet Copeland Award, including Dr. Copeland’s son Brian.

The Garnet Copeland Award is presented to the year’s top all-around student-athlete, taking into consideration excellence in academics, community leadership and athlete performance. This year’s winner is the starting setter from the women’s volleyball team – Paige Paulsen.

Paulsen was the recipient of the AUS and CIS student-athlete community service awards and was the nominee for the James Bayer Memorial Scholarship. She is the current president of the UNB Athlete’s Council. This year, she co-organized UNB’s first Movember initiatives and helped lead the annual Think Pink fundraising campaign. As the fundraising chair of UNB Global Water Brigades, an group working to bring sufficient clean water to communities, she is in charge of organizing fundraising events for the group’s upcoming aid trip to Honduras. She has a passion for coaching and works both with UNB and Volleyball New Brunswick training camps and as head coach of the Bliss Carmen Grade 7 girls’ team.

Also nominated for the Copeland Award were Shea Nordheim (men’s soccer) and Katie Wallace (women’s cross country).

UNB’s female Rookie of the Year was awarded to volleyball’s Victoria Eadle. A first-year student-athlete from Gallagher Ridge, NB, Eadle was named AUS Rookie of the Year, and AUS Second Team All-Star and to the CIS All-Rookie Team. She was second in the AUS for points per set, first in the league for aces per set and third in the CIS in aces per set.

Also nominated for female Rookie of the Year were Nicole LaFleur (basketball) and Charli LeBlanc (swimming).

UNB’s male Rookie of the Year was awarded to hockey’s Randy Gazzola. From Thorold, ON, Gazzola made his presence felt this year with two goals and 22 assists. He was named AUS Rookie of the Year and to the CIS All-Rookie Team.

Also nominated for male Rookie of the Year were Cameron Brace (hockey) and Jesse Kendall (basketball).

A full list of award winners follows:

Rings of Distinction: Will McFee (basketball), Vanja Mitrovic (volleyball), Aaron McMurray (soccer), Sam Lagacy (soccer)

Red and Black Awards
Women’s Basketball: Kiley DeLong
Men’s Basketball: Will McFee
Women’s Volleyball: Paige Paulsen
Men’s Volleyball: Jordan Brooks
Women’s Soccer: Emma Quigley
Men’s Soccer: Alex Haiart
Men’s Hockey: Adrian Robertson
Women’s Track and Field: Tess McDonald
Men’s Track and Field: Evan Grant
Women’s Swimming: Cassey Mooney

UNB / Pepsi Rookies of the Year
Women’s Basketball: Nicole LaFleur
Men’s Basketball: Jesse Kendall
Women’s Volleyball: Victoria Eadle
Men’s Volleyball: Kent Doucette
Women’s Soccer: Rebecca Duda
Men’s Soccer: Matt Mountney
Men’s Hockey: Randy Gazzola
Women’s Track and Field: Sydney MacDonald
Men’s Track and Field: Ben Fowler
Women’s Swimming: Allison Somers

Labatt Most Valuable Players
Women’s Basketball: Katelyn Mangold
Men’s Basketball: Javon Masters
Women’s Volleyball: Vanja Mitrovic
Men’s Volleyball: Marc White
Women’s Soccer: Sam Lagacy
Men’s Soccer: Offensive – Marcus Lees; Defensive – Diego Padilha
Men’s Hockey: Philippe Maillet
Women’s Track and Field: Sarah Myatt
Men’s Track and Field: Daniel Brown
Women’s Swimming: Charli LeBlanc
Men’s Swimming: Taylor Dalke
Women’s Wrestling: Alyssa Cleaves
Men’s Wrestling: Ilya Abelev
Women’s Cross Country: Katie Robinson
Men’s Cross Country: Taylor Lamarche
Women’s Curling: Shelby Wilson
Men’s Curling: Alex Robichaud

RHB McLaughlin All-Canadian Awards
Randy Gazzola – CIS All-Rookie Team, men’s hockey
Victoria Eadle – CIS All-Rookie Team, women’s volleyball
Marcus Lees – Second Team All-Canadian, men’s soccer
Alex Thoms – Second Team All-Canadian, men’s wrestling
Diego Padilha – First Team All-Canadian, men’s soccer
Javon Masters – First Team All-Canadian, men’s basketball
Philippe Maillet – First Team All-Canadian, men’s hockey
Jordan Murray – First Team All-Canadian, men’s hockey
Ilya Abelev – First Team All-Canadian, men’s wrestling
Grayson St. Laurent – First Team All-Canadian, men’s wrestling
Paige Paulsen – CIS Thérèse Quigley Student-Athlete Community Service Award, women’s volleyball
Gardiner MacDougall – CIS Coach of the Year, men’s hockey

Unsung Hero
Lacey Purdy, women’s soccer
Taylor Lamarche, men’s cross country

James Born Award
Kathy Waugh