WHL’s Humanitarian of the Year Awards Finalists

whl awards


(ISN) – Calgary, AB – The Western Hockey League announced today the Eastern and Western Conference finalists for the Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy. The 2015 WHL Awards will take place on Wednesday, May 6th in Calgary.

The Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the WHL’s Humanitarian of the Year. The award recognizes player who help and enhance the community they play in. In May of 2001, the Humanitarian of the Year Trophy was named in honour of former Regina Pat, Doug Wickenheiser for both his contributions on and off the ice.

Each year, all WHL players volunteer countless hours to various charitable and positive causes in the communities in which they play.

Eastern Conference Finalist – Tyler Wong (Cochrane, AB), Lethbridge Hurricanes
Not only did Wong lead the Hurricanes in scoring last season, he led the Club in the community as well in his third season. Wong volunteered his time at Dr. Probe Elementary School as a teacher’s assistant in a grade 5 classroom where he spent valuable time with students, helping them in reading, math, and science. A strong role model, Wong used his popularity and pull as a WHL player to promote positive messages to youth and made a real difference in the lives of all people he connected with in the community this year.

Western Conference Finalist – Taylor Vickerman (Kennewick, WA), Tri-City Americans
Vickerman, a product of the community in which he plays, spearheaded the Americans’ Faceoff Against Bullying campaign this season. The campaign saw Vickerman and select teammates visit a variety of elementary schools in the community to speak to children who have been affected by bullying. The campaign saw Vickerman and his Tri-City teammates share their stories of bullying, encourage those being bullied to feel comfortable talking about the issue and offer advice on how to deal with bullying situations. Vickerman also spent time working with Habitat for Humanity in the Kennewick area this past season.

The WHL also previously announced conference finalists for the WHL’s Scholastic Player of the Year. The Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy is awarded to the WHL’s Scholastic Player of the Year annually at the WHL Awards. The WHL player selected as the top student while competing at a high level in the WHL is presented with the award each year. The award was named after Seaman, a strong supporter of the efforts of Hockey Canada and the WHL to ensure all players combine their education with hockey, in 1996.

WHL Member Clubs, along with their host schools, education advisors and distance learning partner Athabasca University, are committed to providing players with the support and tools necessary to achieve their academic goals.

Eastern Conference Finalist – Nick McBride (Maple Ridge, BC), Prince Albert Raiders
McBride enjoyed a productive season in the Raiders’ crease, but also excelled in the classroom. His first semester of Grade 12 saw McBride post a 96% average, including a 99% grad in pre-calculus. McBride’s Grade 12 average was a slight improvement over his 95% Grade 11 average last season while he also contributed time to his community through the Club’s Reading with the Raiders program.

Western Conference Finalist – Joe Gatenby (Kelowna, BC), Kelowna Rockets
Playing 65 games for the Western Conference’s top team this year, Gatenby is currently completing his Grade 12 year and averaged 97% in his first semester. Gatenby had enough credits to graduate high school in the first semester, but chose to further his studies and will also begin university-level courses this summer.

Previously announced WHL Awards finalists also include:

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Nolan Patrick (Winnipeg, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Western Conference – Kailer Yamamoto (Spokane, WA), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy
Eastern Conference – Tristan Jarry (Delta, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings
Western Conference – Taran Kozun (Nipawin, SK), Seattle Thunderbirds

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Ivan Provorov (Yaroslavl, Russia), Brandon Wheat Kings
Western Conference – Shea Theodore (Aldergrove, BC), Seattle Thunderbirds

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Peter Quenneville (Edmonton, AB), Brandon Wheat Kings
Western Conference – Rourke Chartier (Saskatoon, SK), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – John Paddock, Regina Pats
Western Conference – Dan Lambert, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon Wheat Kings
Western Conference – Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets