Wisconsin senior Frank Kaminsky wins AP Player of the Year award


INDIANAPOLIS — Frank Kaminsky, the 7-footer who anchored Wisconsin’s run to a second consecutive Final Four, is the runaway choice as The Associated Press’ player of the year.

Kaminsky averaged 18.7 points and 8.0 rebounds while shooting 54.9 percent from the field and 41.5 percent from 3-point range as the Badgers ran up a 35-3 record and won the Big Ten regular season and tournament titles.

“Frank the Tank'” is the first Wisconsin player to win the award, which started in 1961. He is the third from the Big Ten in the last six seasons, joining Ohio State’s Evan Turner in 2010 and Michigan’s Trey Burke in 2013.

Kaminsky received 58 votes Friday from the 65-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Duke freshman Jahlil Okafor received five votes and Kentucky’s Willie Cauley-Stein and Notre Dame’s Jerian Grant had one each.

“Teammates jokingly refer to him as POY, now we can definitively say that Frank Kaminsky is AP Player of the Year” pic.twitter.com/q54GFTYGwn

— Wisconsin Basketball (@BadgerMBB) April 3, 2015

This article was from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.