UConn’s Breanna Stewart wins second AP Player of the Year award in a row


TAMPA, Fla. — Breanna Stewart has been voted The Associated Press’ player of the year for the second straight season.

Connecticut’s versatile junior became the fifth player to earn the honor twice in her career Saturday, joining Brittney Griner, Maya Moore, Seimone Augustus and Chamique Holdsclaw.

Stewart averaged 17.6 points and 7.6 rebounds this season in helping UConn roll to a 36-1 record and an eighth straight trip to the Final Four.

Stewart received 20 votes from the 35-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Notre Dame’s Jewell Loyd received the other 15 votes.

It was the closest voting since 2007, when Courtney Paris edged Candace Parker and Lindsey Harding by two votes.

This article was from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!