Alberta to Host Women’s Rugby Super Series

RugbyCanada ball


(ISN) – LANGFORD, BC – Rugby Canada is pleased to announce that the best of women’s fifteens rugby will be on display in Alberta this summer with four top–ranked international teams competing in the 2015 Women’s Rugby Super Series.

The tournament will feature Canada, England, New Zealand and the United States with games being played over three double-headers in Calgary, Red Deer and Edmonton on June 27, July 1 and July 5 respectively.

Canada had its most successful year in 2014 where they reached the Women’s Rugby World Cup (WRWC) Final, losing to England 21-9 at the Stade Jean-Bouin last summer in Paris, France. Their previous best finish was fourth (1998, 2002, 2006).

Magali Harvey was the tournament’s second highest scorer and was named to the WRWC all-star team along with teammates Andrea Burk, Stephanie Bernier, captain Kelly Russell, Hilary Leith and Marie-Pier Pinault-Reid.

“This is an exciting opportunity for our women’s fifteens program as they continue to compete against the world’s best while looking to improve on their best ever World Cup finish in France last year,” said Graham Brown, Chief Executive Officer for Rugby Canada.

The first round will take place in Calgary at the Calgary Rugby Park on June 27th, with Canada facing the New Zealand Black Ferns and the USA playing England. This round of games will also coincide with the 2015 Canadian Rugby Championship, taking place on June 28 and July 1 also at Calgary’s main rugby facility.

The next stage will take place in Red Deer at the Red Deer Rugby Park on July 1st, where Canada will battle the USA on Canada Day while New Zealand will take on England.

The final round, to take place on July 5th at Ellerslie Rugby Park in Edmonton, features Canada and England in a rematch of the 2014 WRWC Final.

New Zealand will tackle the USA in a rematch of the 5th/6th place game at last year’s World Cup.

Fans in Alberta will remember that the 2006 edition of the World Cup was hosted in Edmonton, with New Zealand winning 25-17 over England in the final.

Based on World Rugby’s decision to move key world international events to separate years, the next Women’s Rugby World Cup is set to take place in 2017. This summer’s tournament will act as a key opportunity and tool for player talent identification and development for each of the competing nations.

“Women’s rugby, both in Canada and around the world, has seen exciting growth over the last few years and last year’s World Cup was a world-class sporting event,” said Mike Chu, General Manager of Rugby Operations and Performance for Rugby Canada.

“Our women’s team has shown they can compete with the best in the world and the Women’s Super Rugby Series gives our women a chance to demonstrate that once again in front of our own fans,” added Chu from Langford, British Columbia.


Women’s Rugby Super Series Schedule:

June 27 – Calgary, AB
Calgary Rugby Park

Game 1: USA vs. England
Kick Off: 4:00pm MT

Game 2: Canada vs. New Zealand
Kick Off: 6:30pm MT

July 1 – Red Deer, AB
Red Deer Rugby Club

Game 1: New Zealand vs. England
Kick Off: 4:00pm MT

Game 2: Canada vs. USA
Kick Off: 6:30pm MT

July 5 – Edmonton, AB
Ellerslie Rugby Park

Game 1: New Zealand vs. USA
Kick Off: 4:00pm MT

Game 2: Canada vs. England
Kick Off: 6:30pm MT

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!