UVic to host CIS-FHC championship in 2015

uv field


(ISN) – OTTAWA (CIS) – Canadian Interuniversity Sport announced Monday the University of Victoria as host of the 2015 CIS – Field Hockey Canada women’s championship. The four-team tournament is set for Nov. 5-8.

Since the inaugural CIS competition in 1975, the event has previously been held at UVic on six occasions, including in 1979, 1996, 2000, 2008, 2009 and 2013.

The Vikes are perennial contenders for the McCrae Cup and are tied with Toronto for second place all-time with 11 CIS titles, five less than UBC. Two of Victoria’s triumphs came on home turf, in 2000 and 2008.

“We are pleased to host this major championship next fall,” said Clint Hamilton, Director of Vikes Athletics and Recreation. “We have a proud and rich history at UVic in women’s field hockey and we are proud and honoured to host the 41st CIS championship in Victoria.”