Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team has advanced to the quarters

201
Hockey Canada Logo

 

ZUG, Switzerland – Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team has advanced to the quarter-finals at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship after finishing first in Group B with a perfect 4-0 record during preliminary round play.

It will meet Sweden in the quarter-finals on Thursday. The puck drops at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT, live on TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Check local listings for broadcast times.

Canada capped the round robin with a 3-2 win over Finland on Tuesday. Mathew Barzal (Coquitlam, B.C./Seattle, WHL), Thomas Chabot (Ste-Agathe-de-Beauce, Que./Saint John, QMJHL) and Tyler Benson (Edmonton, Alta./Vancouver, WHL) scored goals in a span of 6:32 in the second period to help the Canadians erase a 2-0 deficit after 20 minutes and get the victory.

Canada also earned wins over Latvia (11-6), Switzerland (4-1) and the Czech Republic (3-2) in the preliminary round.

Finland finished second in Group B, followed by the Czech Republic and Switzerland. Russia, the United States, Slovakia and Sweden were the top four finishers in Group A, all advancing to the quarter-finals.

Quarter-final schedule (April 23)
United States vs. Czech Republic 8:45 a.m. ET/5:45 a.m. PT
Canada vs. Sweden 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT
Finland vs. Slovakia 12:45 p.m. ET/9:45 a.m. PT
Russia vs. Switzerland 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT

Semifinal match-ups will see the winner of Canada-Sweden face the winner of United States-Czech Republic, and the winner of Russia-Switzerland meet the winner of Finland-Slovakia.

Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team has won three gold medals at the IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship, in 2003, 2008 and 2013, along with one silver (2005) and two bronze (2012, 2014).

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!