Vikes men’s rugby host Caps in premier semifinal


By Ali Lee, Vikes Communications

VICTORIA, B.C. – Playoffs will be in full swing this weekend as one of the CDI Premier League semifinals will be hosted by the No. 2-seeded University of Victoria Vikes men’s rugby team. The Vikes men will host the No. 3 Capilano RFC at Wallace Field on Apr. 25 at 2:45 p.m. The top-seeded UBC Thunderbirds will host Burnaby Lake RC in the other semifinal match up.

Despite tying UBC for the top of the standings with 48 points, the Vikes were seeded second on tie breakers that included head-to-head and win percentage. The Thunderbirds finished 9-4-1, while the Vikes were 9-4-2. Capilano followed in the standings with 43 points, while Burnaby finished with 41.

The Vikes will be relying on the back row of Luke Campbell, Dustin Dobravsky and Jeff Nishma-Miller. The Vikes’ speed and ability to open the game will be their assets, while the Caps will rely heavily on their direct and defensive approach. Goal kicking from second-year stand out Fergus Hall will also be pivotal for the Vikes’ success this coming weekend.

The Vikes and Caps clashed previously on Mar. 28 with the Vikes taking the game 45-7. Despite the margin, the game was tied 7-7 at half time and it wasn’t until the 60th minute that the Vikes were able to open the game. In that match up the Caps were missing several key players, who will likely return for this weekend’s semifinal.

“The Caps have excellent defence and they have a number of former Vikes that will likely play this weekend including Chase Kelliher, Reid Tucker and Nathan Yanagiya,” described Vikes head coachDoug Tate, who will be countered by Caps head coach and former Vike Tom Larisch. “They will for sure be out to avenge their loss to us earlier in the season. We have played them tough this year and won both league games but possession will be key as the Caps are very good at playing a tight game and denying you possession.”

The Vikes will face the Capilanos on Saturday, Apr. 25 with kick off set for 2:45 p.m. at Wallace Field. For ticket pricing please visit

1 Casey Reed
2 Casey Cavers
3 Macbryan Bos
4 Kevin Leask
5 Shea Wakefield
6 Luke Campbell
7 Jeff Nishma-Miller
8 Dustin Dobravsky
9 James Pitblado
10 Connor Liewellyn
11 Luke McCloskey
12 Doug Fraser
13 Remi Anctil
14 Crosby Stewart
15 Fergus Hall

Reserves: Doug Pearson, Morgan Tate, Kaprieli Vataiki, Kane Wyatt, Nathan Stewart, Liam Chisholm,Joseph Erlic