McGauley will be up against Portland’s Oliver Bjorkstrand



Calgary, AB. – The Western Hockey League has announced the 2014-15 Conference Finalists for Player of the Year and Brandon Wheat Kings center Tim McGauley will be representing the Eastern Conference.

A 19-year old from Wilcox, Saskatchewan, McGauley is coming off an outstanding season that saw him finish third in the WHL scoring race with 42 goals and 105 points and was one of two Wheat Kings to be chosen to the WHL’s Eastern Conference First All Star Team.

McGauley will be up against Portland’s Oliver Bjorkstrand for the Award, which will be announced at the Annual WHL Awards in Calgary on Wednesday, May 6th.

Chosen this year’s winner of the Meighen Haddad LLP Most Valuable Player Trophy in March, McGauley is currently tied for second place in team playoff scoring with four goals and 9 points in ten games. Since joining the Wheat Kings in 2011, the former first round bantam draft choice has scored eighty goals and 210 points in 220 career games.

Borkstrand meanwhile won the WHL Scoring race this season with 118 points, including 63 goals.

Should McGauley capture the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy, he would join five former Wheat Kings as winners, joining the likes of Eric Fehr (2005), Peter Schaefer (1997), Marty Murray (1995), Ray Ferraro (1984) and Ron Chipperfield (1974).

The most prestigious individual award of the Western Hockey League has been named the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy in memory of the four members of the Swift Current Broncos who died in a tragic accident on December 30, 1986. The four players, Trent Kresse, Scott Kruger, Chris Mantyka and Brent Ruff all died when the Swift Current bus crashed while enroute to a game in Regina.

Here are the other Wheat Kings up for WHL Awards this year:

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Nolan Patrick (Winnipeg, MB), Brandon Wheat Kings

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Ivan Provorov (Yaroslavl, Russia), Brandon Wheat Kings

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy
Eastern Conference – Peter Quenneville (Edmonton, AB), Brandon Wheat Kings

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy
Eastern Conference – Kelly McCrimmon, Brandon Wheat Kings

WHL Marketing / Business Award
Eastern Conference – Brandon Wheat Kings

Patrick represents the Eastern Conference for the Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy as Rookie of the Year, Provorov is a Finalist for the Bill Hunter Trophy as the WHL’s Top Defenceman. Provorov is up against Seattle’s Shea Theodore while Patrick will be facing Kailer Yamamoto of the Spokane Chiefs.

McCrimmon is one of two Finalists for the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy as Executive of the Year while the hockey club’s Sales and Marketing Team is in the running for the WHL Business/Marketing Award. While McCrimmon, who led the Wheat Kings to their first Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy as regular season champions in nineteen years, is up against Bruce Hamilton of the Kelowna Rockets, the Wheat Kings’ organization joins the Rockets as Finalists for the Business Award. In addition to seeing a 10% rise in attendance this season, the Wheat Kings were among the league leaders in Community Outreach support and Charitable donations as well as both Sponsorship and Social Media campaigns.

In addition to the Awards, the Wheat Kings were well represented on the Eastern Conference All Star Teams. Provorov and McGauley were chosen to the First Team while netminder Jordan Papirny was named to the Second. Papirny, who currently leads all WHL goalkeepers in the playoffs with a 1.97 goals against average, became the first Brandon goalie since Glen Hanlon in 1977 to win over forty games during the regular season.

On the ice, Papirny, Provorov, Patrick, McGauley and the Wheat Kings are set to face off against the Calgary Hitmen in game one of the WHL’s Eastern Conference Final on Friday night.