National Men’s Under-18 Team will play for the bronze

200
Hockey Canada Logo

 

ZUG, Switzerland – Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team will play for the bronze medal at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship after a 7-2 loss to the United States in the semifinals on Saturday.

Canada will meet Switzerland in the bronze medal game on Sunday. The game can be seen live on TSN2 and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada, at 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT (check local listings for broadcast times).

The U.S. and Finland will face off in the gold medal game, live on TSN at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT.

On Saturday, captain Mitchell Stephens (Peterborough, Ont./Saginaw, OHL) brought the Canadians within two goals early in the third period, but the Americans pulled away late to send Canada to the bronze medal game for the fourth time in five years. Deven Sideroff (Summerland, B.C./Kamloops, WHL) scored the other Canadian goal on a second-period power play, Canada’s tournament-leading 10th goal with the man advantage.

Canada is attempting to win its seventh medal at the IIHF Ice Hockey U18 World Championship, having won gold three times (2003, 2008, 2013), silver once (2005) and bronze twice (2012, 2014).

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!