Fredericton to host 2017 Everest Canadian Senior Championships


Al Cameron


Canada’s best senior-aged curlers are heading to one of the sport’s hotbeds, Fredericton, N.B., for the 2017 Everest Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships, it was announced today by Curling Canada.

The event, for curlers aged 50 and older, is scheduled for March 18 to 25 and will be played at two facilities: the Capital Winter Club and Willie O’Ree Place, with the men’s and women’s finals both scheduled for the latter.

“On behalf of the organizing committee and the Capital Winter Club I would like to say how pleased and excited we are to host the 2017 Everest Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships,” said Host Committee Chair (and 2013 Canadian/2014 World Senior Men’s Champion) Wayne Tallon. “We look forward to welcoming the 28 teams from across the country that will be competing for the national championships. Our track record in hosting high-level events such as this one will ensure each athlete will have a memorable experience here in Fredericton. A big thank-you to Curling Canada for awarding us this event.”

Fredericton is no stranger to hosting major curling events. Most recently, Tallon chaired the host committee for the 2013 World Seniors and World Mixed Doubles Championships. Additionally, the city played host to the 2005 Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Championships, the 1988 Scotties Tournament of Hearts, the 1985 Canadian Junior Women’s Championship, the 1982 World Junior Men’s Championship, the 1980 Canadian Senior Women’s Championship, the 1975 Brier and the 1965 Canadian Junior Men’s Championship.

It will be the fifth time the Canadian Seniors have been played in New Brunswick (the championships were conducted separately for each gender until being combined in 1985 in Yorkton, Sask.). The Canadian Senior Men’s Championship was in played at Saint John in 1974 (won by B.C.’s George Beaudry) and 1980 (won by Saskatchewan’s Terry McGeary), while the 1980 Canadian Senior Women’s was in Fredericton (won by B.C.’s Flora Martin); the combined 1995 Canadian Senior Men’s and Women’s Championships were played in Saint John, with Ontario’s Bill Dickie and Northern Ontario’s Sheila Ross emerging as the winners.

New Brunswick teams have captured three Canadian Senior Men’s championships since the event’s inception in 1965 — Tallon’s title in 2013, David Sullivan in 1994 and Jim Murphy in 1967.

Only one New Brunswick team has captured gold at the Canadian Senior Women’s Championship — Heidi Hanlon in 2011. Like Tallon, Hanlon’s team followed up with a gold medal at the World Senior Women’s Championship a year later.

It will be the third Canadian seniors staged with in partnership with Everest, the first nationwide funeral planning and concierge service.

“Everest is excited to be a part of this event, where the top senior men’s and women’s curlers in the country will come together to compete for the national title in Fredericton,” said Mark Duffey, President and CEO of Everest Funeral Planning and Concierge Service. “I know that the hospitality and enthusiasm of the host committee, and the city itself, will provide an amazing week-long celebration of the sport.”

The winner of the 2017 Everest Canadian Seniors will represent Canada at the 2018 World Senior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships (April 14-21, location TBD).

The 2016 Everest Canadian Seniors will run March 19 to 27 in Digby, N.S.

The Canadian Senior Men’s Championship began in 1965 in Port Arthur, Ont. Since then, Manitoba has won a leading 12 titles. The Canadian Senior Women’s Championship began in 1973 in Ottawa. Ontario has won a leading 10 crowns.