Volleyball Canada men’s national B and junior team selection camps


Volleyball Canada – Jackie Skender

OTTAWA – This week, at the Centre Sportif de Gatineau, players from across the country are battling for spots on Canada’s national men’s B and junior teams. The B team selection camp runs from April 29 to May 4 at the National Training Centre. The team’s head coach is Georges Laplante, and assistant coaches are Louis-Pierre Mainville and James Gravelle. The selected players will train in Gatineau all summer, and compete at the Pan Am cup in the United States from August 9 to 17.

“I’m very pleased by the quality and quantity of players at the men’s development selection camp this year,” said Julien Boucher, Volleyball Canada indoor national teams’ High Performance Director, “Once again, it’s a busy and exciting year for our men’s development teams, which will include a NORCECA (U21 Pan Am Cup) event right here in Gatineau in late June and the U21 World Championship in September.”
The junior team selection camp runs from May 6 to 11 at the National Training Centre in Gatineau, QC. Head coach of the junior team is John Barrett and assistant coaches are Brock Davidiuk and Vincenzo Mallia. Last year, the junior team finished second place at the U21 NORCECA in El Salvador, qualifying to compete at the U21 World Championship in Mexico from Sept. 11 to 20, 2015. The selected team will also be attending the 2015 World Universiade in Gwangju, South Korea from July 3 to 14.

B Team Selection Camp Roster (team and hometown)

Jarron Mueller, FTC Canada, Calgary AB
Josh McKay, University of Winnipeg, Winnipeg MB
Brett Walsh, University of Alberta, Calgary AB
Garrett Popplestone, Brandon University, Brandon MB
Matei Anghel, Everton Volleyball Club, Montreal QC
Jonathan Macdonald, Dalhousie University, Halifax NS
Colin Carson, Gentofte (Denmark), Prince George BC

Left Side
Casey Knight, Thompson Rivers University, Salt Spring Island BC
Nicholas Del Bianco, Trinity Western University, Surrey BC
Daniel Groenveld, FTC Canada, Welland ON
Bryan Fraser, FTC Canada, Saskatoon SK
Colton De Man, FTC Canada, Calgary AB
Jay Olmstead, FTC Canada, Edmonton AB
Stephen Maar, McMaster University, Aurora ON
Ray Szeto, York University, Toronto ON
Bryan Duquette, Dalhousie University, St. Thomas ON
Patrick Strzalkowski, University of Guelph, St. Catharines ON
Alexander Dawson, Ryerson University, Scarborough ON

Right Side
Logan Keoughan, FTC Canada, Miramichi NB
Robert Wojcik, Ryerson University, Oshawa ON
Jim Bell, UBCO, Surrey BC
Casey Schouten, University of Winnipeg, Winnipeg MB

Andre Brown, FTC Canada, Mississauga ON
Tyler Scheerhorn, Queen’s University, Belleville ON
Braden McLean, FTC Canada, Birch Hills SK
Tristan Aubry, FTC Canada, Edmonton AB
Jérémie Lortie, Calais (Pro B France), Ottawa ON
Danny Grant, Trinity Western University, Chetwynd BC
Dany Demyanenko Jimenez, McMaster University, Toronto ON
Marc Wilson, University of Guelph, Stratford ON
Mikael Dagenais, University de Montreal, Montreal QC
Chris Howe, University of British Columbia, Salt Spring Island BC
Alexander Duncan-Thibault, York University, Scarborough ON
Alexander Elliot, McMaster University, Cobourg ON

Brendan Yao, University of Alberta, Burnaby BC
Jordan Or, Mount Royal University, Burnaby BC

Junior Team Selection Camp Roster (team and hometown)

Gabriel Chancy, Cégep St-Jerome, Montréal QC
Byron Keturakis, University of British Columbia, Surrey BC
Caleb Konrad, Douglas College, Abbotsford BC
Adam Schreimer, Trinity Western University, Winnipeg MB
Logan Mend, York University, Naramata BC

Left Side
Irvan Brar, University of British Columbia, Surrey BC
Lucas Coleman, Ryerson University, Brooklin ON
Adam DeJonkheere, Univeristy of Manitoba, Winnipeg MB
Jordan Foot, Thompson Rivers University, Prince George BC
Matthew Guidi, University of British Columbia, Coquitlam BC
Bradon Koppers, McMaster University, Georgetown ON
Andrew Richards, McMaster University, London ON
Matt Santema, Douglas College, Coquitlam BC
Blake Scheerhorn, Trinity Western University, Belleville ON
George Thompson, Douglas College, Delta BC
Kashtin De Souza, Red Deer College, Vancouver BC
Olivier Riopel, Griffons Cégep de l’Outaouais, Gatineau QC
Adam Sanderson, University of Dalhousie, Halifax NS
Ben Harper, Queen’s University, Ottawa ON
Nicholas Tremblay, Cégep Limoilou, Québec QC
Pascal McCarthy, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton NB

Right Side
Chhavanith Ponn, Cégep Limoilou, Dieppe NB
Arthur Szwarc, York University, Toronto ON
Keith West, University of Calgary, Lethbridge AB
Ryan Colpitts, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, NB
Ryan Nickifor, University of Alberta, Sherwood Park AB

Arran Chambers, University of Alberta, Edmonton AB
Adam Kern, UBC Okanagan, West Kelowna BC
Stephen Kary, Pakman Volleyball Club, Ottawa ON
Mason Fairless, Nooks Volleyball Club, Edmonton AB
Jeff Ardron, Ryerson University, Peterborough ON
James Jackson, London ON
Joel Regher, University of British Columbia, Courtenay BC

Will (Frederik) Otten, Ryerson University, Delaware ON
Jonathan Phillips, Briercrest College, Caron SK
Carter Bergen, Trinity Western University, Winnipeg MB
Evan Lockwood, McKendree University, Orlando FL
Logan Brennan, University of Winnipeg, Bragg Creek, AB
Jules Muhawe, York University, Ottawa ON