PGA TOUR Canada Storylines – 2015 Qualifying Tournament Courtenay, B.C.

pga tour of canada
2015 PGA TOUR Canada Qualifying Tournament – British Columbia

Dates: May 5-8
Course: Crown Isle Resort and Golf Community – (Courtenay, B.C.)
Par/Yards: 36-36—72/7,025 yards
Field: 132
2014 champion: David Bradshaw
Format: 72-hole stroke play (no cut)
Status Breakdown
Position Status
Medalist Exempt status
Finishers 2-18 Conditional status (Exempt through first six events and subject to re-shuffle)
Finishers 19-40 (plus ties) Conditional Status
2015 PGA TOUR Canada qualifying resumes this week with the final of three Qualifying Tournaments, returning to the Crown Isle Resort and Golf Community in Courtenay, B.C for the second consecutive year.
Once again, PGA TOUR Canada players will aim to take the next step on the path to the PGA TOUR in 2015. The leading player on the Order of Merit at season’s end will earn exempt status on the Tour for 2015, while players 2-5 will earn conditional status, players 6-10 will earn an exemption into the final stage of Tour Q-School and players 11-20 will earn an exemption into the second stage.
Toronto’s Albin Choi and Antibes, France’s Julien Brun took home medalist honours at each of the first two Qualifying Tournaments and will be exempt for the 2015 season.
Champions start at Crown IsleThe 2014 Qualifying Tournament at Crown Isle was a starting point for four PGA TOUR Canada winners in 2014, led by medalist David Bradshaw (The Great Waterway Classic), Tim Madigan (The Players Cup), Greg Machtaler (National Capital Open to Support our Troops) and Nate McCoy (The Wildfire Invitational presented by PC Financial). The only other 2014 winner to earn status via Q-School last year was Matt Harmon (SIGA Dakota Dunes Open presented by SaskTel).
2014 NCAA All-Americans in the field:
Cory Whitsett (Alabama – 3rd team)
Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington – Honourable Mention)
Canadians in the Field (35):James Allenby (Langley, B.C.)
Stuart Anderson (Strathmore, Alta)
Wilson Bateman (Edmonton, Alta.)
Tyson Beaupre (Grande Prairie, Alta.)
Robert Bird (Whistler, B.C.)
Jerry Christiansen (Air Ronge, Sask.)
Brian Churchill-Smith (Oakville, Ont.)
Aaron Crawford (Calgary, Alta.)
Darren Day (Victoria, B.C.)
Ryan Gugin (Victoria, B.C.)
Todd Halpen (Calgary, Alta.)
Thomas Hay (Langley, B.C.)
Darren Hupfer (Edmonton, Alta.)
Andrew Jensen (Ottawa, Ont.)
Sean Ko (West Vancouver, B.C.)
Xin Liang (Markham, Ont.)
Dallas Mengel (Saskatoon, Sask.)
Daniel Pow (Calgary, Alta.)
Jonathan Rondeau (Woodbridge, Ont.)
Karsten Rostad (Camrose, Alta.)
James Seymour (Aurora, Ont.)
Ashok Soma (Burnaby, B.C.)
Corey Steger (North Vancouver, B.C.)
Brett Stewart (Abbotsford, B.C.)
Scott Stiles (Calgary, Alta.)
Mitchell Sutton (London, Ont.)
Rhys Tosczak (Weyburn, Sask.)
Brett Webster (Abbotsford, B.C.)
Ryan Werre (Redcliff, Alta.)
Christopher Wilson (Timmins, Ont.)
Josh Wytinck (Glenboro, Man.)
Ryan Zylstra (Woodstock, Ont.)
Ryan Ellis (Cumberland, Ont.)
Dane Ellerton (Hemmingford, Que.)
Shawn Vanderwal (Kamloops, B.C.)
Other Notes on the field:
  • Among past PGA TOUR Canada winners in the field: Chris Killmer (2012 The Players Cup), Stuart Anderson (2005 California Classic; 2006 & 2011 Freedom 55 Financial Championship; 2009 Montreal Open) and Jaime Gomez (2005 Mazatlan Classic).
  • 2013 Order of Merit No. 10 Kyle Stough is in the field after making five cuts in 17 starts on the Tour last year.
  • Brett Stewart is the son of PGA TOUR Canada alumnus, multiple-time PGA TOUR runner-up and 1994 Dunhill Cup Champion Ray Stewart
  • Michael Sainz is the brother of 2013 The Players Cup champion Carlos Sainz, Jr.
  • Michael Letzig, who has made 114 starts on the PGA TOUR with 9 top-10s, is making his first start at PGA TOUR Canada Qualifying.
  • Langley, B.C.’s James Allenby, who earned Freedom 55 Financial Canadian Player of the Week honours at last year’s Bayview Place Island Savings Open presented by Times Colonist with a T4 finish, finished 80th on the Order of Merit.
  • Former Golf Canada National Amateur Team and National Development Team members in the field: Mitchell Sutton and Wilson Bateman.
  • Glenboro, Manitoba’s Josh Wytinck won the Manitoba Amateur Championship in 2012, the same year he made the cut as an amateur at The Players Cup.
  • 14 amateurs are in the field: Patrick Beyhan (Las Cruces, N.M.); Mookie DeMoss (Athens, Ga.); Stephan Koblos (Lessburg, Va.); Cheng-Tsung Pan (Taiwan); Victor Perez (Albuquerque, N.M.); Nicholas Reach (Athens, Ga.); Charles Sault (West Palm Beach, Fla.); Manav Shah (Bakersfield, Calif.); Ashok Soma (Burnaby. B.C.); Rhys Tosczak (Weyburn, Sask.); Preston Valder (Yorba Linda, Calif.); Jack Whealdon (Ilwaco, Wash.); Christopher Wilson (Timmins, Ont.); Jackson Wyman (South Freeport, Maine).