Seitz awarded 2014-15 Fred “Gus” Collins Award by Canada West


Evan Daum


Brandon, MB—Longtime Kamloops, BC broadcaster Earl Seitz has been named the winner of the 2014-15 Fred “Gus” Collins Award for his continued, and outstanding coverage of Canada West.

Seitz, who covers Canada West for CFJC Television, B-100 and CIFM Radio, earned this year’s award after voting by Canada West sports information officers.

Seitz has been a broadcaster for over 40 years and has been the host of Canada West’s only mainstream television show In the Den, which focuses on the Thompson Rivers University WolfPack teams and athletes, but also features content on the entire conference.

In the Den airs on CFJC-TV on its 5 p.m., 6 p.m., and 11 p.m. newscasts on Monday’s and Thursday’s during the Canada West season.

Stories this past year included those on: Ukrainian volleyball player, and Donetsk native Iuliia Pakhomenko’s adjustment as a university student/athlete, while her family remains in a war-torn area; the introduction of swimming as a sport at TRU; and how student athletes, including women’s basketball player Michelle Bos, helped lead an initiative to become a stem cell donor, which caught the attention of not only TRU students, but the entire City of Kamloops.

Seitz will be the Canada West nominee for the Fred Sgambati Award, which is presented annually to a member of the media, who covers Canadian Interuniversity Sport, and has made a major contribution to the development and growth of CIS sport.

That award will be announced later this year at the CIS annual general meeting.

Seitz is the first broadcaster/journalist from Kamloops to win the Collins award.

Former winners of the Collins award include: Ian Hamilton of the Leader-Post (2004-05), and Howard Tsumura of the Vancouver Province (2008-09), who went on to capture the Sgambati award.

The 2013-14 winner of the Fred “Gus” Collins Award was Darren Zary of Saskatoon’s StarPhoenix.