Braves take 5-2 victory in 10 innings, claim series

M Braves


PEARL, MS — The Mississippi Braves plated three runs in the 10th to secure a 5-2 victory and claim the first-ever series against the Biloxi Shuckers at Trustmark Park. The series finale is slated for 1:00 PM Sunday.

With the game tied 2-2, the Mississippi Braves (14-13) loaded the bases in the top of the 10th. Kevin Ahrens then drew a walk and Seth Loman was hit by a pitch, giving the M-Braves a 4-2 lead. Andrew Robinson then reached on an error, allowing another run to cross.

With the series originally scheduled at Biloxi (17-12) but moved to Trustmark Park due to the Shuckers’ stadium construction, Biloxi served as the home team and got the final at bat. Robinson (2-1) finished out the game, retiring the side in the 10th, to pick up the win.

The M-Braves took a 1-0 lead in the first. Mallex Smith singled and Emerson Landoni doubled to start the frame. Kevin Ahrens then delivered a sacrifice fly to left field, plating Smith.

Smith walked to start the third. He stole second and took third on an error by the catcher. He then came around to score on Landoni’s ground out, putting the M-Braves out front 2-0.

In the bottom of the fifth, Tyrone Taylor reached on a ground-rule double with two outs. A wild pitch allowed him to advance to third before Nick Shaw delivered a pinch-hit infield single, plating Taylor and cutting the Braves lead to 2-1.

Nick Ramirez and Michael Reed both singled to start the eighth for Biloxi. A sacrifice bunt allowed both runners to move up a bag, and then Taylor grounded out to drive in Ramirez and tie the game at 2-2 and eventually force extra innings.

Wifin Obispo (0-2) took the loss, giving up three runs (two earned) on two hits and a walk in one-third of an inning’s work.

Neither starter factored in the decision. Greg Ross worked five innings for the M-Braves, holding the Shuckers to one earned run on five hits and a walk. He struck out four batters. Hobbs Johnson gave up two runs, one earned, on five hits and three walks while striking out four in five innings of work.

In Sunday afternoon’s series finale, Braves right-hander Victor Mateo (0-1, 5.40) counters Shuckers righty Jorge Lopez (2-2, 3.52). First pitch is slated for 1:00 PM. Gates open at 12:00 PM.

Mississippi Braves (14-13): 5 R 7 H 0 E
Biloxi Shuckers (17-12): 2 R 10 H 3 E

W: Andrew Robinson (2-1)
L: Wirfin Obispo (0-2)

Time: 3:06
Attendance: 3,246
The Mississippi Braves is the Double-A affiliate of the Atlanta Braves. Since making the move from Greenville, SC, in 2005, over 95 M-Braves have gone on to play in the big leagues. The M-Braves have made postseason play three times and went on to win the Southern League Championship in 2008.