Canada got their U20 World Rugby Trophy off to a winning start

233
rugby.canada 816

Four tries and 15 points off the boot of flyhalf Dylan Horgan lead Canada to 35-20 win over Namibia in tournament opener in Portugal

 

LISBON, PORTUGAL – Canada got their U20 World Rugby Trophy campaign off to a winning start Tuesday as they beat Namibia 35-20 at the Estadio Universitario in Lisbon, Portugal.

Canada got two tries from Karsten Leitner while Theo Sauder and Phil Berna also touched down. Fly half Dylan Horgan converted three of Canada’s four tries and also slotted home three penalties.

“It was a scrappy win with lots of mistakes,” head coach Jeff Williams said. “But in the second half we gained momentum through our forwards and we were able to string a few phases together. Overall, I was happy for the boys. They deserved the win in the end.”

Canada built an early 13-0 lead thanks to Leitner’s first try and Horgan’s boot, however, Namibia cut the deficit to just three points at the break as Canada took a 13-10 lead into half time.

Canada came out with a renewed aggression in the second half and quickly added a try as Sauder crashed over in the corner to extend the lead to 18-10.

Namibia responded swiftly with a try of their own but Canada kicked into another gear and scored twice more as Leitner and Berna touched down to put Canada up 32-15.

“Our scrums became dominant,” Williams said of his side’s second half performance. “Our ability to play on turn over ball really helped as well. Overall I think the nerves began to settle a little for us and we were able to start to play to our strengths.”

Horgan would add another penalty to take his personal tally to 15 points and despite a late Namibian try, Canada played out the final minutes without any concerns.

“In a tournament where one loss can stop you from getting to that title game it’s a huge relief,” captain Lucas Rumball said. “This win is going to allow us to build and keep getting better as a team as the tournament progresses.”

Canada is back in action Saturday when they face Hong Kong. Kick off is 10 am ET / 7 am PT and can be watched LIVE at www.fpr.pt.

Canada’s Squad for Tuesday’s match vs. Namibia

1 – Matt Tierney – (Mississauga Blues) Oakville, ON
2 – John Shaw – (Bytown Blues) Ottawa, ON
3 – Cali Martinez – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
4 – Paul Cuilini – (Aurora Barbarians) Vaughan, ON
5 – Reegan O’Gorman (Christchurch Marist Albion) Vancouver, BC
6 – Lucas Rumball – Captain (Balmy Beach) Scarborough, ON
7 – Ollie Nott – (UVIC Vikes) Qualicum, BC
8 – Luke Bradley – (UVIC Vikes/Port Alberni Black Sheep) Port Alberni, BC
9 – Daniel Joyce – (Trinity University) Dublin, Ireland
10 -Dylan Horgan – (UCC Rugby Club) Cork, Ireland
11 – Karsten Leitner – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
12 – Guiseppe du Toit – (UVIC Vikes) Maple Ridge, BC
13 – Mitch Santilli – (Brantford Harlequins) Brantford, ON
14 – Theo Sauder – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
15 – Andrew Coe – (UBC Thunderbirds/Markham Irish) Markham, ON
16 – Mitch Rothman – (Vancouver Rowing Club) Vancouver, BC
17 – Conor Young – (Southern Districts RC) Sydney, Australia
18 – Brendan Blaikie – (Queen’s University/Markham Irish) Markham, ON
19 – Adrian Wadden – (Oakville Crusaders) Mississauga, ON
20 – Tony Pomroy – (Baymen RFC) Conception Bay South, NL
21 – Phil Berna – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
22 – Harjun Gill – (UBC Thunderbirds/Richmond RFC) Richmond, BC

Canada’s World Rugby U20 Trophy 2015 Match Schedule

May 12 – Canada 35 – 20 Namibia
May 16 vs. Hong Kong – 3 p.m. local time (7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET)
May 20 vs. Tonga – 7 p.m. local time (11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET)

Play-Off Schedule

May 24 – 7th Place Play-Off – 11 a.m. local time (3 a.m. PT/6 a.m. ET)
May 24 – 5th Place Play-Off – 1 p.m. local time (5 a.m. PT/8 a.m. ET)
May 24 – 3rd Place Play-Off – 3 p.m. local time (7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET)
May 24 – Final – 5 p.m. local time (9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!