Canada’s National Men’s Team has advanced to the quarter-finals

157
SidneyCrosby

 

PRAGUE, Czech Republic – Canada’s National Men’s Team has advanced to the quarter-finals at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship after finishing first in Group A with a perfect 7-0 record during preliminary round play.

It will meet Belarus in the quarter-finals on Thursday. The puck drops at 10:15 a.m. ET/7:15 a.m. PT, live on TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Check local listings for broadcast times.

CLICK HERE FOR THE 2015 IIHF ICE HOCKEY WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

CLICK HERE FOR CANADA’S NATIONAL MEN’S TEAM ROSTER FOR THE 2015 IIHF ICE HOCKEY WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP

Canada capped the round robin with a 10-1 win over Austria on Tuesday. Matt Duchene (Haliburton, Ont./Colorado, NHL) and Jason Spezza (Toronto, Ont./Dallas, NHL) led the way with two goals and two assists apiece, while Jordan Eberle (Regina, Sask./Edmonton, NHL), Nathan MacKinnon (Cole Harbour, N.S./Colorado, NHL) and Brayden Schenn (Saskatoon, Sask./Philadelphia, NHL) had a goal and a helper each. Mike Smith (Kingston, Ont./Arizona, NHL) made 14 saves to get the victory in the Canadian goal.

Canada also earned wins over Latvia (6-1), Germany (10-0), the Czech Republic (6-3), Sweden (6-4), France (4-3) and Switzerland (7-2) in the preliminary round.

Sweden finished second in Group A, followed by the Czech Republic and Switzerland. Russia, the United States, Finland and Belarus were the top four finishers in Group B, all advancing to the quarter-finals.

Quarter-final schedule (May 14)

Switzerland vs. United States       9:15 a.m. ET/6:15 a.m. PT

Belarus vs. Canada                     10:15 a.m. ET/7:15 a.m. PT

Russia vs. Sweden                      1:15 p.m. ET/10:15 a.m. PT

Czech Republic vs. Finland          2:15 p.m. ET/11:15 a.m. PT

Semifinal match-ups will see the winner of Belarus-Canada face the winner of Czech Republic-Finland, and the winner of Switzerland-United States meet the winner of Russia-Sweden.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!