Canada’s National Men’s Team has advanced to the semifinals

126
Hockey Canada Logo

 

PRAGUE, Czech Republic – Canada’s National Men’s Team has advanced to the semifinals at the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey World Championship after a 9-0 quarter-final win over Belarus on Thursday.

It will meet the Czech Republic in the semifinals on Saturday. The puck drops at 9:15 a.m. ET/6:15 a.m. PT, live on TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada. Check local listings for broadcast times.

CLICK HERE FOR THE 2015 IIHF ICE HOCKEY WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE

CLICK HERE FOR CANADA’S NATIONAL MEN’S TEAM ROSTER FOR THE 2015 IIHF ICE HOCKEY WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP

On Thursday, Tyler Seguin (Brampton, Ont./Dallas, NHL) had a hat trick and Brent Burns (Barrie, Ont./San Jose, NHL) added two goals and two assists to lead the Canadians, who got a 24-save shutout from Mike Smith (Kingston, Ont./Arizona, NHL) to advance to the semifinals for the first time since 2009. Ryan O’Reilly (Varna, Ont./Colorado, NHL) scored twice, and Tyler Ennis (Edmonton, Alta./Buffalo, NHL) and Jason Spezza (Toronto, Ont./Dallas, NHL) had one goal each. Canada has scored 58 goals in eight games, already more than any other tournament since NHL players began participating in 1977.

Canada finished atop Group A with a perfect 7-0 record in the preliminary round, including wins over Latvia (6-1), Germany (10-0), the Czech Republic (6-3), Sweden (6-4), France (4-3), Switzerland (7-2) and Austria (10-1). The Czechs were the third-place finisher in Group A with a 4-1-1-1 record, and beat Finland 5-3 in their quarter-final.

Semifinal schedule (May 16)

Czech Republic vs. Canada                       9:15 a.m. ET/6:15 a.m. PT

Russia vs. United States                           1:15 p.m. ET/10:15 a.m. PT

The semifinal winners will meet Sunday in the gold medal game at 10:15 a.m. ET/7:15 a.m. PT, while the bronze medal game will be played at 2:45 p.m. ET/11:45 a.m. PT. Both games are live on TSN and RDS.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!