Canada made it two wins from two at the U20 World Rugby Trophy

236
theo
Coach Jeff Williams’ side wins second consecutive match of World Rugby Trophy in Lisbon, Portugal
 
 
Theo Sauder Photo World Rugby 
 
LISBON, PORTUGAL – Canada made it two wins from two at the U20 World Rugby Trophy Saturday as they defeated Hong Kong 24-15 at the Estadio Universitario in Lisbon, Portugal. Phil Berna and Lucas Rumball scored tries for Canada while Dylan Horgan added eight points and Guiseppe Du Toit kicked two penalties.

“Taking points when they are on offer and keeping the scoreboard ticking has been critical for our success and epitomizes tournament style rugby,” Du Toit said.
 
“Lots of credit goes to our forwards who have given the backs a stable platform from the base of the scrum. The overall athleticism from the team and leadership from the senior players have combined exceptionally well on and off the field as both confidence and team morale are very high.”
 
Canada got off to a flying start as they built a 15-0 lead within the opening 20 minutes. After an early penalty miss by Horgan, Du Toit stepped up and slotted home the first points of the day with an eighth minute penalty. Du Toit would miss a penalty three minutes later but Canada would score the first try of the day through Berna in the 12th minute.
 
It was soon 13-0 as Rumball touched down, with Horgan adding the conversion. Hong Kong cut into Canada’s lead as Liam Owens’ try was converted by Hugo Stiles, who then added a penalty in the 28th minute.
 
Horgan would put Canada ahead 18-10 with his first penalty of the day but Hong Kong answered immediately when Raef Morrison scored although Stiles couldn’t add the conversion. Canada were able to add to their lead before half time as Horgan slotted his second penalty of the day between the uprights to put Canada up 21-15 at the break.
 
The game would remain deadlocked until Du Toit kicked a 79th minute penalty to seal the 24-15 win for Canada.
 
Canada will be back in action on Wednesday when they tackle Tonga, who beat Namibia 45-11 later in the day Saturday. The winner of that match will play in the tournament final on May 24.“The guys are very confident and upbeat heading into our next clash with Tonga,” Du Toit said. “We set ourselves a goal of four wins out of four during March and the same goes for this tournament. Thus far we have taken each game one at a time, this boding well for our game preparation for each individual team, and makes our preparation for Tonga no different as we know what the stakes are.”
 
Wednesday’s game kicks off at 2pm ET / 11am PT and can be watched LIVE at http://www.fpr.pt/noticias/index.asp?pagina=1&opm=25&id=11722&id2=25.
 
Canada’s Squad for Saturday’s match vs. Hong Kong
 
1 – Brendan Blaikie – (Queen’s University/Markham Irish) Markham, ON
2 – Patrick Finlay – (Trinity University) Dublin, Ireland
3 – Matt Tierney – (Mississauga Blues) Oakville, ON
4 – Paul Cuilini – (Aurora Barbarians) Vaughan, ON
5 – Adrian Wadden – (Oakville Crusaders) Mississauga, ON
6 – Lucas Rumball – Captain (Balmy Beach) Scarborough, ON 
7 – Mitch Rothman – (Vancouver Rowing Club) Vancouver, BC
8 – Luke Bradley – (UVIC Vikes/Port Alberni Black Sheep) Port Alberni, BC
9 – Tony Pomroy – (Baymen RFC) Conception Bay South, NL
10 -Dylan Horgan – (UCC Rugby Club) Cork, Ireland
11 – Karsten Leitner – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
12 – Guiseppe du Toit – (UVIC Vikes) Maple Ridge, BC
13 – Phil Berna – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
14 – Theo Sauder – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC
15 – Andrew Coe – (UBC Thunderbirds/Markham Irish) Markham, ON
16 – John Shaw – (Bytown Blues) Ottawa, ON
17 – Bryce Worden – (Burnaby Lake RFC/Belleisle RFC) Sussex, NB
18 – Conor Young – (Southern Districts RC) Sydney, Australia
19 – Cali Martinez – (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC 
20 – Daniel Joyce – (Trinity University) Dublin, Ireland
21 – Emil Sehic – (Fredericton Loyalists) Fredericton, NB
22- Harjun Gill – (UBC Thunderbirds/Richmond RFC) Richmond, BC
 
Canada’s World Rugby U20 Trophy 2015 Match Schedule
 
May 12 — Canada 35 – 20 Namibia
May 16 — Canada 24 – 15 Hong Kong
May 20 vs. Tonga – 7 p.m. local time (11 a.m. PT/2 p.m. ET)
 
Play-Off Schedule
 
May 24 – 7 Place Play-Off – 11 a.m. local time (3 a.m. PT/6 a.m. ET)
May 24 – 5 Place Play-Off – 1 p.m. local time (5 a.m. PT/8 a.m. ET)
May 24 – 3 Place Play-Off – 3 p.m. local time (7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET)
May 24 – Final – 5 p.m. local time (9 a.m. PT/12 p.m. ET)

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!