Team Canada Roster Announced For 2015 (WILC)

WILC hosts


OTTAWA, ON, May 19, 2015 – Dean French, Canada’s national team Chairman and the Canadian Lacrosse Association have announced Canada’s roster for the 2015 FIL World Indoor Lacrosse Championship (WILC). Canada’s elite indoor athletes will take on the world, vying for a fourth consecutive gold against long-time rivals from the Haudenosaunne Nation and the United States, amongst other countries.

The 2015 Team Canada coaching staff of head coach Eddie Comeau, along with assistant coaches Derek Keenan, Paul Day, and Glen Clark started the selection process early this year and after months of evaluating and assessing, have narrowed the 37-man training roster to twenty-three. The final twenty-three player roster will represent Canada as the FIL WILC comes to Onondaga Nation for the first time.

Canada is the reigning world champion and is unbeaten in international play with a 17-0 record in the past three World Championships. With the competition taking place close to home, Team Canada is focused and ready to face the world. “Our coaching staff spent considerable time reviewing the National Athlete Pool (NAP). Every athlete in our NAP is an outstanding player and deserving for consideration for the Canadian national team but, we can only take 23 players to the Worlds,” said Comeau. “Although these were very tough decisions, we are confident that we have assembled a skilled and athletic team that is excited to represent Canada at the 2015 WILC,” he concluded.


Player 2015 Summer Team NLL Team

Aaron Bold Victoria Sr. A Shamrocks (WLA) Edmonton Rush

Adam Jones Peterborough Lakers (MSL) Colorado Mammoth

Billy Dee Smith Six Nations Chiefs (MSL) Buffalo Bandits

Brandon Miller Six Nations Chiefs (MSL) Toronto Rock

Brett Mydske Langley Thunder (WLA) Edmonton Rush

Brodie Merrill Boston Cannons (MLL) (Field) Toronto Rock

Chris Corbeil Brampton Excelsiors (MSL) Edmonton Rush

Curtis Dickson Maple Ridge Burrards (WLA) Calgary Roughnecks

Dan Coates Six Nations Chiefs (MSL) Colorado Mammoth

Dan Dawson Victoria Sr. A Shamrocks (WLA) Rochester Knighthawks

Dhane Smith Six Nations Chiefs (MSL) Buffalo Bandits

Jordan MacIntosh Oakville Rock (MSL) Minnesota Swarm

Kyle Rubisch Brampton Excelsiors (MSL) Edmonton Rush

Mark Matthews Rochester rattlers (MLL) (Field) Edmonton Rush

Matt Vinc Peterborough Lakers (MSL) Rochester Knighthawks

Paul Dawson Brampton Excelsiors (MSL) Rochester Knighthawks

Ryan Benesch Kitchener-Waterloo Kodiaks (MSL) Buffalo Bandits

Ryan Dilks Victoria Sr. A Shamrocks (WLA) Edmonton Rush

Scott Campbell Brooklin Redmen (MSL) Rochester Knighthawks

Shawn Evans Peterborough Lakers (MSL) Calgary Roughnecks

Stephan Leblanc Oakville Rock (MSL) Toronto Rock

Steve Priolo Brooklin Redmen (MSL) Buffalo Bandits

Zack Greer Denver Outlaws (MLL) (Field) Edmonton Rush


“The World Indoor Games are shaping up really nicely with thirteen countries competing. Our coaching staff spent a lot of time and energy working through the selection process and we are very proud of the players who have been selected and know they will represent Canada well both on and off the floor.” commented Johnny Mouradian, CLA’s National Team Director for Box Lacrosse.

This fall The Onondaga Nation will host 13 nations from around the world as Team Canada competes for the world title September 18-27. The games will be played at three venues: the War Memorial Arena; Onondaga Nation Arena; with the bronze and gold medal games played at the Carrier Dome at Syracuse University on Sunday, September 27th. The game schedule is not currently set but it is likely Canada will open their quest for gold on the first day of competition, September 19.

Once the final schedule is set, the CLA will release the information to fans on Fans can follow Team Canada leading up to the worlds on Twitter@CanadaLacrosse. During the Worlds, fans are encouraged to follow Team Canada live on Twitter and visit for post-game reactions and reports.