By Melissa Fraser, Vikes Communications

VICTORIA, B.C. – Three University of Victoria Vikes men’s golfers were announced today, May 20, to the NAIA PING All-Region West Team in conjunction with the NAIA National Championships currently being played in Daytona Beach, Fla.


First-year Vike Lawrence Rowe, fellow rookie Mike Griffin, and third year Alex Cartwright joined 11 others on the West team, while 59 were honoured in total. This season the Vikes men’s golf team had back-to-back wins at the Master’s College and Corban University Invitational events and finished seventh overall in the Battle at Primm, hosted at the Primm Valley Golf Club in Nevada.

Alex Cartwright, Victoria
Mike Griffin, Victoria
Dylan Healey, CSU San Marcos
Evan Holmes, British Columbia
Connor Kozak, British Columbia
Kolton Kyne, Concordia (Ore.)
Ryan Melnychuk, Concordia (Ore.)
Ryan Odom, CSU San Marcos
Lawren Rowe, Victoria
Scott Shefflette, CSU San Marcos
Scott Secord, British Columbia
Daniel Thompsett, Rocky Mountain
Jack Wood, British Columbia
Matt Zempello, Embry Riddle Arizona

Lucas Boyd, AIB
Tyler Christians, Grand View
Jake Coffey, Indiana Wesleyan
Justin Doeden, Cardinal Stritch
Mario Funcic, Cardinal Stritch
Josh Gass, St. Francis (Ill.)
Stan Gautier, William Woods
David Houlding, William Woods
Dylan MacQueen, Cardinal Stritch
Billy McKenzie, Williams Woods
Myles Pfingsten, Grand View
Matt Schlueter, Mount Mercy
Jake South, Mount Mercy
Ben Vetrovsky, Hastings
Ben Wollam, Grand View
Alan Barnhardt, Coastal Georgia
Allen Bradford, Coastal Georgia
Hunter Cornelius, Coastal Georgia
Sean Elliott, Dalton State
Hunter Fikes, Faulkner
Peter French, Johnson & Wales
W. Greg Gentry, Webber International
Lasse Gerhardsen, Johnson & Wales
Ray Gordon, Faulkner
Hrafin Gudlaugsson, Faulkner
Matt Morin, Johnson & Wales
Damon Salo, Johnson & Wales
Trevor Smith, Coastal Georgia
Simon Taylor, Union
Alastair Tidcombe, Coastal Georgia
Jose Acevedo, Bethany
Steven Anderson, Texas Wesleyan
Ian Ansett, Wayland Baptist
Seth Bryan, Southwestern (Kan.)
Matthew Cheung, Oklahoma City
Ryan Connolly, Wayland Baptist
Steven Diack, Wayland Baptist
Ben Johnson, Bethany
Anthony Marchesani, Oklahoma City
Garrison Mendoza, Oklahoma City
Zach Oliver, Oklahoma Baptist
Jose Rolz, Texas Wesleyan
Sam Russell, Oklahoma City
Jose Vega, Bellevue
Jamie Warman, Oklahoma City