Chartier claimed the title Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year

rourke chartier kelowna

Chartier earns CCM CHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year honour.

Quebec City, QC – Kelowna Rockets forward Rourke Chartier claimed the title of CCM Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year at the 2015 CHL Awards on Saturday.

Chartier finished tied for 14th in WHL scoring with 48 goals and 34 assists for 82 points while recording just 18 minutes in penalties in 58 games played this season. The 19-year-old from Saskatoon, SK, was selected in the fifth round of the 2014 NHL Draft by the San Jose Sharks.  Finalists for the award included Kyle Farrell of the Cape Breton Screaming Eagles, and Dylan Strome of the Erie Otters.

Chartier is in his third season with Kelowna. In 188 career regular season games, the forward has amassed 170 points (85g-85a) and 34 minutes in penalties.

This is the second consecutive year that a WHL player has won the award after Sam Reinhart claimed the honour in 2014. The awards were presented as part of the 2015 MasterCard Memorial Cup festivities at Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City.


2015 CHL Awards – WHL Finalists


Jack Link’s Top Prospect of the Year:

WHL Finalist – Ivan Provorov (Brandon)

Winner – Connor McDavid (Erie)

Sherwin-Williams Top Scorers:

WHL Finalist – Oliver Bjorkstrand (Portland) – 118 points

Winners – Conor Garland (Moncton) and Dylan Strome (Erie) – 129 points

TVA Sports Humanitarian of the Year:

WHL Finalist – Taylor Vickerman (Tri-City)

Winner – Danick Martel (Blainville-Boisbriand)

SUBWAY Scholastic Player of the Year:

WHL Finalist – Nick McBride (Prince Albert)

Winner – Connor McDavid (Erie)

MasterCard Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year:

WHL Finalist – John Paddock (Regina)

Winner – Sheldon Keefe (Sault Ste. Marie)

BMO Rookie of the Year:

WHL Finalist – Nolan Patrick (Brandon)

Winner – Alex DeBrincat (Erie)

Vaughn Goaltender of the Year:

WHL Finalist – Taran Kozun (Seattle)

Winner – Philippe Desrosiers (Rimouski)

Liftmaster Defenceman of the Year:

WHL Finalist – Shea Theodore (Seattle)

Winner – Anthony DeAngelo (Sault Ste. Marie)

Sportsnet Player of the Year:

WHL Finalist – Oliver Bjorkstrand (Portland)

Winner – Connor McDavid (Erie)


Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!