Rawlings NCAA Div. I Gold Glove Team announced

rawlings gold glove award


OMAHA, NEBRASKA — The American Baseball Coaches Association has announced the 2015 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. I Gold Glove Award winners. College World Series participant LSU had two honorees: shortstop Alex Bregman and outfielder Andrew Stevenson.

Southern California’s Garrett Stubbs earned the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Award at catcher while Texas Tech’s Eric Gutierrez (first base), Notre Dame’s Cavan Biggio (second base) and Oregon’s Mitchell Tolman rounded out the infield. Along with Stevenson, South Alabama’s Cole Billingsley and Charlotte’s Brad Elwood won ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Awards in the oudfield. Central Michigan’s Nick Deeg was the Gold Glove Award winner at pitcher.

The online list is here:

The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Team is voted on in Omaha by the ABCA All-America Committee, which is chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University. The committee also includes head coaches Mike Stone (Massachusetts), Brian O’Connor (Virginia), Tim Corbin (Vanderbilt), Steve Jaksa (Central Michigan), Steve Smith (formerly of Baylor), Tommy Raffo (Arkansas State) and George Horton (Oregon).

The ABCA/Rawlings All-America teams were announced on Saturday. Vanderbilt’s Dansby Swanson won the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Bat Award as the National Player of the Year. All-America teams dating back to 1949 are listed on www.ABCA.org.

Established in 1945, the ABCA is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Founded as the American Association of College Baseball Coaches (AACBC), the association was instrumental in the creation of the College World Series. The first AACBC College World Series was held in 1947 in Kalamazoo, Michigan, where California beat Yale in a best two-of-three series. In 1949, the AACBC expanded the tournament to four teams and the series moved to Wichita, Kansas. The CWS expanded to eight teams and moved to Omaha in 1950, where it has been held ever since.

The ABCA’s over 6,600 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, Junior College, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 72nd annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 7-10, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!