Vikes summer crews set for BC Championship on home waters

vks rowing

By Ali Lee, Vikes Communications

VICTORIA, B.C. – While most of the University of Victoria Vikes varsity athletes return home for the summer months, the Vikes rowing program is in full rhythm this summer. Several of the student-athletes will get to test their summer training this weekend racing for the Vikes Summer Club at the Challenge West/BC Championship hosted at Elk Lake, Jul. 10-12.


Hosts Victoria City Rowing Club’s aim of this weekend is to host an athlete-centered regatta providing Junior, Senior and Masters athletes with quality racing opportunities.

“We have a larger group than normal training in Victoria with our Vikes Summer Club program,” outlines Vikes men’s rowing head coach Aalbert Van Schothorst. “This weekend will be a good test of how the summer program is moving and for most of the clubs this weekend this is a test regatta in preparation for Canadian Henley in four weeks.”

On the men’s side Sam Horn, Adam Donaldson, Elyas Forstbauer, Chris Marshall and Mark Davies will lead the Vikes boat in the eight. All five were members of the 2014 Canadian University Rowing Championship crew that won gold in the eights in a dramatic finish to the Victoria-hosted event. On the same waters, this group will be joined by Brett Larson, Mathew Szymanowski and David Nicmans. Nicmans competed at the Junior World Championship, while freshman Szymanowski rowed at the Royal Canadian Henley in his junior year.

The men’s side will also have medal hopefuls in the lightweight men’s four under the strengths of Alex Walker and Andrew Hendrickson. Both medaled at the 2014 CURC event with Walker winning gold in both the eights and double.

The men’s quad, featuring Samuel Hogman, Jamie Ferguson, Eric Arscott and Walker will also be a strong crew this weekend. Hogman and Ferguson are defending champions in the Under 23 men’s quad at last year’s Canadian Henley, while Arscott is a key transfer from Colgate College who will be stepping into substantial rolls in the program.

On the women’s side, Becca Zimmerman, Becky Wilder, Madeline Spangehl and Maxine Chapman, members of the 2014 CURC bronze medal eights crew, will guide this weekend’s eights crew. Also in that boat will be Judith Beestermoller, a graduate of St. Michael’s University School committed to UVic in the fall of 2015.

Zimmerman and Spangehl will also race the senior pair, while Deborah Snell and Cate White will be ones to watch in the lightweight double. Chapman will also race the Senior B single.

Races will take place at Elk Lake on Jul. 10-12, while the Vikes will be looking to peak in four weeks’ time for the Royal Canadian Henley Regatta, hosted Aug. 2-9 in St. Catharines, Ont.


Men’s Open 2x
Eric Arscott and Samuel Hogman
Andy Muth and Andrew Hendrickson

Men’s SrA 4x
Alex Walker, Eric Arscott, Jamie Ferguson, Samuel Hogman
Niko Praun, Harrison Backer, Brandon Carnduff, Duncan Bryson

Men’s Open 2-
Mathew Szymanowski, Mark Davies
Andrew Hendrickson, Nickolas Lee
Adam Donaldson, Christopher Marshall
Harrison Backer, Jacob McCallum
Hayden Frisch, Eric Arscott

Men’s Open 1x
Brett Larson
David Nicmans
Andy Muth
Alex Walker
Liam Boole
Duncan Bryson
Noah Robinson-Dunning
Jamie Ferguson

Men’s SrA 4-
Jacob McCallum, Andrew Hendrickson, Nickolas Lee, Alex Walker
Noah Robinson-Dunning, Niko Praun, Liam Boole, Hayden Frisch
Sam Horn, Brett Larson, Elyas Forstbauer, Mark Davies

Men’s Open 8+
Alexandra Clancy, Sam Horn, Adam Donaldson, Mathew Szymanowski, Brett Larson, Elyas Forstbauer, David Nicmans, Christopher Marshall, Mark Davies

Erynn Pawluk, Samuel Hogman, Andrew Hendrickson, Noah Robinson-Dunning, Liam Boole, Hayden Frisch, Jamie Ferguson, Eric Daan Arscott, Alex Walker

Jacob Koudys, Sam Garber, Niko Praun, Harrison Backer, Duncan Bryson, Andy Muth, Kai Langerfeld, Alec Janssens, Nickolas Lee

Women’s SrB 2-
Courtney Smith, Cailyn Wolski
Jessica Bateman-Wallace, Lauren Goforth

Women’s SrA 2-
Becca Zimmerman, Madeline Spangehl

Women’s SrB 1x
Maxine Chapman

Women’s SrB 1x Lwt
Deborah Snell
Cate White

Women’s JrA 1x
Emily Green-Hunt

Women’s SrA 4-
Becca Zimmerman, Cailyn Wolsky, Courtney Smith, Emma Durham
Hannah Taft, Emily Peacock, Amanda Pomphrey, TBD

Women’s Open 8+
Becky Wilder, Becca Zimmerman, Madeline Spangehl, Courtney Smith, Cailyn Wolski, Maxine Chapman, Kirsten McKay, Emma Durham, Judith Beestermoller, Bailey Kuhlman

Jessica Bateman-Wallace, Lauren Goforth, Cate White, Deborah Snell, Shannon Huff, Amanda Pomphrey, Hannah Taft, Emily Peacock

Women’s SrA 2x
Becca Zimmerman, Emma Durham

Women’s SrB 2x
Maxine Chapman, Emily Green-Hunt

Women’s SrB 2x Lwt
Deborah Snell, Cate White

Women’s SrA 4x
Lauren Goforth, Deborah Snell, Jessica Bateman-Wallace, Cate White
Hannah Taft, Emily Peacock, Alex Bovell, Amanda Pomphrey

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!