Athletics Canada names team for IAAF World Championships



Athletics Canada named today a team of 51 athletes to compete at the 2015 International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) World Championships in Beijing, China August 22 to 30.

“The World Championships are the last major measuring stick as we prepare for the 2016 Olympic Games,” said Peter Eriksson, Head Coach and Chief Technical Officer. “Our team objectives are clear; improve on our country ranking and the number of medals, top 8, top 12 and top 16 finishes. Individually we are looking for athletes to place higher than their ranking entering the event.”

The team includes six World outdoor Championship medallists as well as 12 Canadian record holders. Nine athletes and one relay team on the roster is currently ranked top 10 on the IAAF performance list.

Competition takes place in the Birds Nest, site of the 2008 Olympic Games.

Canadians in the Top 10 (as of July 19)

Shawn Barber 4th in pole vault
Andre De Grasse 6th in 200m (running 100m only at Worlds)
Derek Drouin 5th in high jump
Elizabeth Gleadle 7th in javelin
Sultana Frizell 6th in hammer
Cam Levins 4th in 10000m
Michael Mason 9th in high jump
Christabel Nettey 2nd in long jump
Brianne Theisen-Eaton 1st in heptathlon
Women’s 4x100m 8th

Female athletes

Fiona Benson, 800m, Dawson Creek, BC, Mark Bomba, Langley Mustangs

Khamica Bingham, 100m/200m/4x100m, Brampton, ON, Desai Williams, Brampton Track Club

Melissa Bishop, 800m, Eganville, ON, Dennis Fairall, Ottawa Lions

Crystal Emmanuel, 100m/4x100m, Toronto, ON, Desai Williams, Project Athletics

Isatu Fofanah, 4x100m, Edmonton, AB, Dwight Francis, Voleo

Sultana Frizell, Hammer, Perth, ON, Derek Evely, Ottawa Lions

Phylicia George, 100mH/4x100m, Markham, ON, Anthony McCleary, Unattached

Elizabeth Gleadle, Javelin, Vancouver, BC, Lawrence Steinke, Chinook Track & Field Club

Shaina Harrison, 4x100m, Aurora, ON, Charles Allen, Flying Angels

Nikkita Holder, 100mH, Pickering, ON, Anthony McCleary, Unattached

Kimberly Hyacinthe, 100m/200m/4x100m, Terrebonne, QC, Desai Williams, Vainqueurs Plus

Audrey Jean-Baptiste, 400m/4x400m, Montreal, QC, Clif Mitchell, Perfmax-Racing

Geneviève Lalonde, 3000mSC, Moncton, NB, Dave-Scott Thomas, Speed River TFC

Lanni Marchant, 10000m, London, ON, Dave Mills, London Western Track & Field Club

Carline Muir, 400m/4x400m, Edmonton, AB, Anthony McCleary, DFC

Christabel Nettey, Long jump, Surrey, BC, Dan Pfaff, Unattached

Jessica O’Connell, 5000m, Calgary, AB, Mike Van Tighem, University of Calgary Athletics Club

Nicole Sassine, 4x400m, Windsor, ON, Jesse Dupuis, University of Windsor Athletics Club

Rachel Seaman, 20km RW, Peterborough, ON, Tim Seaman, Peterborough Legion Track Club

Nicole Sifuentes, 5000m, Winnipeg, MB, Mike McGuire, Unattached

Aiyanna Stiverne, 4x400m, Laval, QC, Ronald Morency, Unattached

Erin Teschuck, 3000mSC, Winnipeg, MB, Andrew Carlson, Winnipeg Optimist Athletics

Brianne Theisen-Eaton, Heptathlon, Humboldt, SK, Harry Marra, Saskatoon Track & Field Club

Sage Watson, 400mH/4x400m, Calgary, AB, Ken Harnden, Calgary International

Natasha Wodak, 10000m, Vancouver, BC, Richard Lee, BCEP, Asics Canada, PIH

Jessica Zelinka, Heptathlon, London, ON, Cliff Rovelto, Vainqueurs

Male athletes

Mohammed Ahmed, 5000m, St. Catharines, ON, Jerry Schumacher, Nike-Bowerman Track Club

Shawn Barber, Pole vault, Toronto, ON, George Barber/Milt Ottey, Project Athletics

Mathieu Bilodeau, 50km Race walk, Calgary, AB, Gilles Roca, AR

Aaron Brown, 100m/200m/4x100m, Toronto, ON, Dennis Mitchell, Phoenix

Jonathan Cabral, 110mH, Péribonka, QC, Jamie Cook, Kitchener-Waterloo

Andre De Grasse, 100m/4x100m, Markham, ON, Caryl Smith Gilbert, Speed Academy

Derek Drouin, High jump, Corunna, ON, Jeff Huntoon, Sarnia ASW

Evan Dunfee, 20km/50km Race walk, Richmond, BC, Gerry Dragomir, Race Walk West

Alex Genest, 3000mSC, Lac-aux-Sables, QC, Dave Scott-Thomas, Club d’athlétisme Zénix

Inaki Gomez, 20km Race walk, Vancouver, BC, Gerry Dragomir, Race Walk West

Akeem Haynes, 4x100m, Calgary, AB, Stuart McMillan, T-Thunderbirds

Matthew Hughes, 3000mSC, Oshawa, ON, Wynn Gmitroski, Athletics Toronto

Sekou Kaba, 110mH, Ottawa, ON, Andy McInniss, Ottawa Lions

Cam Levins, 5000m/10000m, Black Creek, BC, Alberto Salazar, Unattached

Michael Mason, High jump, Nanoose Bay, BC, Zbigniew Szelagowicz, Valley Royals

Brandon McBride, 800m, Windsor, ON, Chris Scarrow, Windsor Legion

Taylor Milne, 3000mSC, Callander, ON, Dave Scott-Thomas, Speed River

Tim Nedow, Shot put, Brockville, ON, Vestienn Hafsteinsson, Ottawa Lions

Paul Osland. Masters demonstration 800m, Toronto, ON, University of Toronto

Brandon Rodney, 200m/4x100m, Brampton, ON, Simon Hodnett/George Kerr, Unattached Ontario

Michael Sherar, Masters demonstration 800m, Toronto, ON, University of Toronto

Gavin Smellie, 4x100m, Brampton, ON, Desai Williams, Flying Angels

Benjamin Thorne, 20km race walk, Kitimat, BC, Gerald Dragomir, Racewalk West

Damian Warner, Decathlon, London, ON, Vickie Croley, London Western Track Club/Nike

Justyn Warner, 100m/4x100m, Markham, ON, Kevin Tyler, Unattached

Michael Sherar and Paul Osland were invited by the IAAF and will compete in the masters demonstration 800-metres.

At the last edition of the World Championships (2013) in Moscow, Russia the team won five medals; Dylan Armstrong (shot put bronze), Derek Drouin (high jump bronze), Brianne Theisen-Eaton (heptathlon silver), Damian Warner (decathlon bronze) and the men’s 4×100-metres relay team (bronze).

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!