Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal Will Play Doubles At Rogers Cup

rogers cup

Montreal, August 4, 2015 – Tennis Canada announced Tuesday the list of teams that will be competing in doubles during the 2015 edition of the Rogers Cup presented by National Bank in Montreal. Eight of the Top 10 teams in the world will be in the draw, in addition to Brit Andy Murray and Spain’s Rafael Nadal.

“The doubles draw deserves more attention,” said Eugène Lapierre, tournament director of the Rogers Cup. “We are happy to have such a strong list this year with a good mix of doubles specialists who always put on a show, and several top singles players who have some doubles prowess.”

The top seeds will be Bob and Mike Bryan, the most decorated doubles team of all-time. The American brothers have won the Rogers Cup on four occasions (2012, 2010, 2006, 2002), but they have yet to win the trophy in Montreal. Two-time defending Rogers Cup champions Alexander Peya of Austria and Brazil’s Bruno Soares will be back to defend their title. For his part, Murray will team up with eight-time Grand Slam champion Leander Peas. Canadian Daniel Nestor, who will be seeking his third Rogers Cup crown, will play alongside France’s Édouard Roger-Vasselin.

One of the two tournament wildcards has been given to the Spanish team of Rafael Nadal and Fernando Verdasco. Nadal has nine ATP doubles titles to his credit, including Doha earlier this year. The Canadian duo of Philip Bester and Adil Shamasdin have also been awarded a wildcard.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!