Former ISN Intern Lachlan Ross recipient of the CCAA National Scholar Award

lach ross

Lachlan Ross left with teammate AJ Beaudry

Camosun College is pleased to announce that 22 Chargers student-athletes have been recognized by the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) as recipients of the 2014-2015 CCAA National Scholar Award.

National Scholar Athletes are recognized for their outstanding academic accomplishments and must achieve an honours standing at their institution over a full academic year. From the CCAA’s 94 member-institutions, 819 student-athletes were awarded the prestigious honour in their pursuit of academic and athletic excellence. 

Congratulations to the following Camosun Chargers student-athletes!

Men’s Basketball

Lachlan Ross                       Year 3                    University Transfer         Hawker College, AUS

Quinn Yates                        Year 1                    University Transfer         Edward Milne, Sooke

Women’s Basketball

Amy Acheson                    Year 2                    BSFL Sport Mgmt             Lambrick Park, Victoria

Olivia Bakker                      Year 2                    General Sciences             Duncan Christian
Rachael Bakker             Year 2                    General Sciences             Duncan Christian
Haley Cabral                       Year 1                    Business Admin                Claremont, Victoria
Kathryn Candell                Year 1                    General Studies                Pacific Christian, Victoria               
Ali Cooper                           Year 1                    Business Admin                Oak Bay, Victoria
Ella Goldschmid                Year 4                    BSFL Ex Well                       Mt. Doug, Victoria
Kate Service                       Year 1                    University Transfer         Parkland, Sidney
Melissa Van Dyk               Year 2                    BBA Accounting                Claremont, Victoria

Men’s Golf

Scott Merriam                   Year 1                    Golf Mgmt                          West Vancouver
Brady Stead                        Year 3                    BBA Marketing                  Vernon 

Men’s Volleyball

Gabriel Duval                     Year 1                    University Transfer         Reynolds, Victoria
Gabriel Freund                  Year 1                    UT Arts                                 Steveston-London, Israel
Tyler Remenda                 Year 3                    BSFL Ex Well                       Lord Beaverbrook, Calgary AB

Women’s Volleyball

Hilary Graham                   Year 5                    BSFL Ex Well                       Mark R. Isfeld, Courtenay
Morgan Marshall              Year 4                    BSFL Ex Well                       Smithers
Kaelyn Parmelee              Year 2                    General Sciences             Kalamalka, Vernon

Jamie Rodstrom              Year 3                    Civil Engineering Tech    Belmont, Victoria
Erika Sheen                        Year 5                    Business Admin                Lethbridge Collegiate, Leth AB
Emily Thorlakson              Year 1                    University Transfer         Kalamalka, Vernon

“We’re very proud to have so many Chargers earn this honor,” states Graham Matthews, Camosun Recreation and Athletics Coordinator. “Achievements like this truly show how hard our student-athletes work to reach their academic and athletic goals.”