mens lax

The Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) has announced the 63 players selected to vie for a spot on the 2016 Canadian National Men’s Under- 19 Field Lacrosse Team. Team Canada will compete at the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championships on July 7-16, 2016, in Coquitlam, British Columbia.

A total of 225 players submitted tryout applications which were considered by a selection committee including current and past national team coaches, as well as current college and professional coaches. Team Canada head coach Taylor Wray (Edmonton, Saint Josephs University) will oversee the camp.

“There has never been greater interest in our national lacrosse program and to narrow the pool to 63 players was a significant challenge.” said Wray.  “With that said, we feel great about the talent and character represented in the group of players that will attend camp in November. The coaching staff and support team can’t wait to get the group together, to start getting to know these young men, and to watch them compete with one another on the field.”

The selection camp will be held from November 26-29, 2015 on the campus of IMG Academy, Bradenton, Florida.

Coach Wray went on to say, “The most challenging part of the process for both players and coaches is the next one. Tryouts are going to be extremely competitive and at the end the weekend our staff is going to have some difficult decisions to make. We said this four years ago and I believe it to be true once again, this is the deepest pool of U19 field lacrosse players we have ever had. I can’t wait for the tryouts to begin and to start putting the pieces together to build the team that is going to give Canada the best opportunity earn its first ever U19 Men’s World Championship.”

The selection camp roster with the player’s hometown and province is as follows:

First Name    Surname    City    Prov.
Cam    Badour    Greeley    ON
Tanner    Baldin    Paris    ON
Joshua    Bosher    Kamloops    BC
Reid    Bowering    Coquitlam    BC
Caelahn    Bullen    Calgary    AB
Jake    Bye    Port Coquitlam    BC
David    Byrne    Victoria    BC
Brett    Craig    Calgary    AB
Eli    Cross    Calgary    AB
Riley    Curtis    Brampton    ON
Jonathan    Donville    Oakville    ON
Anthony    Drouin    Oakville    ON
Zack    Dybowski    Kitchener    ON
Dalton    Follows    Oakville    ON
Mac    Forde    Oakville    ON
Bo    Forsen    Carstairs    AB
Dylan    Foulds    Port Coquitlam    BC
Ben    French    Toronto    ON
Connor    Frost    Port Moody    BC
Levi    Gallant    Langley    BC
Matthew    Gaudet    Hamilton    ON
Tyson    Gibson    Maple    ON
Brodie    Gillespie    Port Coquitlam    BC
Ty    Goff    Port Coquitlam    BC
Latrell     Harris    St. Catherines    ON
Kyle    Hebert    Burlington    ON
Jeffrey    Henrik    Orangeville    ON
Robert    Hudson    Oakville    ON
Justin    Inacio    Oakville    ON
Warren    Jeffrey    Toronto    ON
Edward    Kalaydjian    Montreal    QC
Luke    Keenan    Courtice    ON
Jack    Kelly    Toronto    ON
Robert    Kidd III    Port Moody    BC
Kyle    Killen    Cavan    ON
Matthew    Kim    Oakville    ON
Marshal    King    Victoria    BC
Dylan    Kinnear    Calgary    AB
Kyle    Kolwich    Oakville    ON
Ryan    Lanchbury    Burlington    ON
Tre     Leclaire    Surrey    BC
Justin    Lemcke    Whitby    ON
Harrison    Matsuoka    Calgary    AB
Brett    McIntyre    Calgary    AB
Brody    McLean    Bolton    ON
Clarke    Petterson    Toronto    ON
Drake    Porter    Aurora    ON
Ryland    Rees    Port Coquitlam    BC
Jackson    Reid    Guelph    ON
Connor    Robinson      New Westminster    BC
Tyler    Sceviour    Calgary    AB
JP    Shea    Oakville    ON
Jake    Stevens    Guelph     ON
Tyler    Stinson    Uxbridge    ON
Jackson    Suboch    Toronto    ON
Jeffrey    Teat    Brampton    ON
Bryce    Tolmie    Whitby    ON
John    Wagner    St. Davids    ON
Ethan    Walker    Peterborough    ON
Jason    Walker    Brampton    ON
Clark    Walter    Port Coquitlam    BC
Kurtis    Woodland    Elora    ON
Bryce    Yetman    Whitby    ON

Over 20 countries have expressed interest in participating in the 2016 FIL Under-19 World Men’s Lacrosse Championships in July, making it the largest Under-19 Men’s Field Worlds in the event’s history.

The men’s world U-19 field lacrosse championship was first held in 1988 and was hosted in Canada only once previously when the championship tournament was hosted at the same site in Coquitlam in 2008.

The final team selection will be announced in 2016.