fil lax

At the closing ceremonies of the 2015 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships (WILC), after Team Canada captured its fourth consecutive gold medal, the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) announced the selection of Canada as the host for the 2019 WILC which will be held in Langley, BC.

“The Township of Langley is thrilled to be hosting this prestigious international event at the Langley Events Centre in 2019,” said Township of Langley Mayor Jack Froese. “Our community has quickly become a ‘lacrosse town,’ and we welcome the chance to experience the game at this level. The World Indoor Lacrosse Championships will be an exceptional opportunity for fans in Langley and throughout the region to witness the skill, focus, teamwork, and breathtaking pace the sport is known for, at a global level. The Langley Events Centre is the perfect venue for this event, and we are pleased the Federation of International Lacrosse has chosen this exceptional facility to spotlight teams from around the world.”

British Columbia Lacrosse Association President, Sohen Gill said “We are very pleased that the 2019 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships will be hosted in BC at the Langley Events Centre (LEC).  The LEC has played host to many high profile events including the prestigious Mann and Minto Cups, the highest performance of Senior and Junior A Lacrosse Championships in Canada.  Also home to the Vancouver Stealth of the National Lacrosse League, the LEC facility is first class from the structure itself to its management and staff, who are exceptional and experienced in their administration, promotion, and co-ordination of activities on and off the floor.  I am confident that the teams traveling from around the world will be impressed with our beautiful province, and that the BC Lacrosse Association and our counterparts from across Canada will be out in full force supporting these World Championships in 2019!”

The 2019 event will mark the third time the World Championship has been hosted by Canada but will be the first major international men’s indoor event to take place on the west coast.  The Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) along with remarkable host organizations previously hosted the 2003 and 2007 events.

“We are extremely excited to be bringing this world class event to our facility in 2019,” LEC Director of Business Development Jared Harman said, “it is an honour to be able to host Canada and the rest of the world in a sport we are so actively involved in and we look forward to working with our partners the Canadian Lacrosse Association and the BC Lacrosse Association in helping put on a terrific event.”

Stewart Begg, the CLA Director of High Performance and International Relations, added, “The CLA  is looking forward to working the LEC organizing committee. The value of being able to host an international event such as this will have a positive impact on the growth of our sport; this level of play highlights international lacrosse and our national team program as it showcases the speed, skill and athleticism of lacrosse.”

Thirteen teams competed in the 2015 World Indoor Lacrosse Championship, including six new nations (Finland, Germany, Israel, Serbia, Switzerland, and Turkey). The medal results were the same as the previous three championships with Canada earning the gold, the Iroquois taking the silver and the U.S. winning the bronze. Surprising newcomer, Israel, finished in 4th. The remaining order of finish was England 5th, Ireland 6th, Czech Republic 7th, Australia 8th, Finland 9th, Turkey 10th, Germany 11th, Serbia 12th, and Switzerland 13th.

Joey Harris, the President of the CLA stated “On behalf of the CLA and all its member associations across Canada, I’d like to thank FIL for granting this event to Canada and we look forward to welcoming all participants to Canada, to play Canada’s national summer sport.”
The 2019 World Championship will mark the fifth time teams have competed for the quadrennial world championship; Canada is the reigning titleholder after their 12-8 victory over the Iroquois Nationals this year. Team Canada has won each of the four previous titles, including the inaugural event in 2003 and a stretch of undefeated international record of 23-0.