team daniels

(New Westminster) The teams of Sarah Daniels and Tyler Tardi took a step closer to qualifying for the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships when they won the Anita Cochrane Memorial Cashspiel at Royal City Curling Club this weekend.

Skip Daniels, and her team of third Dezaray Hawes, second Marika Van Osch and lead Megan Daniels, were unbeaten in the competition and secured the title when Sarah made a draw to the button in the final to defeat Team Brown 7-6 in an extra end.

Kamloops skip Corryn Brown, third Erin Pincott, second Samantha Fisher and lead Sydney Fraser, also had a perfect record ahead of the final, winning all four of their pool games and easing through their semi-final 7-0.

Brown and Daniels last met in the 2015 Tim Hortons BC Women’s Championship final but on that occasion it was the Kamloops rink that came out on top.

Surrey’s Tyler Tardi was triumphant in the Men’s event, defeating Team Kiss 8-2 in the final.

Tardi’s team of third Daniel Wenzek, second Jordan Tardi, lead Nicholas Meister and fifth Sterling Middleton, were dominant throughout the weekend and did not lose a game.

Kiss, and his teammates third Nicholas Umbach, second Travis Cameron and lead Zach Umbach, had a more difficult route to the final as they were part of a three-way tie at the top of their pool but qualified for their semi-final by virtue of the last stone draw rule.

Tardi and Daniels both now top the BC Junior Curling Tour standings with four tour events remaining. The top two teams of each gender on the Tour will receive automatic qualification for the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Championships which take place in Kamloops from December 29 – January 3.

The BC Junior Curling Tour was the brainchild of five-time BC Men’s champion Jim Cotter. Speaking about the tour he said: “The first Annual Anita Cochrane Memorial went great. All of the organizers and Royal City Curling Club did an amazing job and it was great to see 24 teams out there competing this early in the year.

“Junior cashspiels like this, along with the other four tour events, are a great training ground for these young teams.  The next goal is to expand the number of events on the tour so that all teams across BC can participate in at least one local spiel.  Every team that competed this weekend can walk away having learnt what they need to do to improve so they can be better at the next junior tour event that takes place in Abbotsford on Thanksgiving weekend”, he added.

The Anita Cochrane Memorial Junior Cashspiel was established in memory of Anita who was an inspirational ambassador of the game competing as a high performance athlete and also a coach. Anita’s parents kindly presented the teams with their trophies and spoke to the competitors about her legacy.

The other BC Junior Curling Tour events are:

§  Oct. 9-11: The Abbotsford Curling Club Junior Cashspiel

§  Oct. 30-Nov. 1: The Rick Cotter Memorial Cashspiel at Vernon Curling Club

§  Nov. 7-8: The Interior Beverages Junior Spiel at Kelowna Curling Club

§  Nov. 13-15: The Esquimalt Optimist Junior Cashspiel


Final standings:

1. Team Daniels
2. Team Brown
3. Team Jensen
4. Team Coulombe
5. Team Zucchet
6. Team Connell
Other competing teams: Loken, Harvey, Wilson and Smith

1. Team Tardi
2. Team Kiss
3. Team McCrady
4. Team Carpenter
Other competing teams: Henderson, Sato, Kryski, Croteau, Monette, Kwok, Bartlett, Hagen, Mak and Murray