mens volly

Canada wins second in a row to advance at the Men’s Volleyball Continental Championship

By Jackie Skender

CORDOBA, Mexico, October 07, 2015:  Canada’s men’s team defeated Puerto Rico today 3-0 (25-23, 25-17, 25-23) at the NORCECA Men’s Continental Championship to advance to the semi-finals. This means Canada is in the “final four” and earns a berth in the zone’s Olympic Qualifier to be held in early January.

“It was a very long summer for us, and our final objective was to qualify for the second qualifier and I’m happy with that,” explained Canada’s coach Glenn Hoag. “Playing Puerto Rico is always a great game because they are a good team with a lot of experienced players and young players as we saw in the third set. It’s difficult for us  – we are missing an opposite, but Steve (Marshall) is doing a great job playing the position…  his performance was importance for us.”

Canada’s Gord Perrin was top scorer with 15 points, followed by Nick Hoag with 11, Justin Duff with six and Marshall with five.  Eddie Rivera contributed six points for Puerto Rico. Canada out-blocked Puerto Rico 8-5, and both teams finished tied in aces 2-2.

“Now we know that we are in the top four, we can breathe at sigh of relief,” said Canada’s team captain Fred Winters. “We have a really good opportunity to win the tournament, so we’ll move forward from here.”  

On Monday, Canada dominated Honduras in straight sets 25-13, 25-10, 25-10 to kick off the tournament. The last time Canada faced Puerto Rico was at the Pan Am Games in Toronto, a contest Canada won 3-1. 

Canada recently returned from the World Cup in Japan, where the top two 
Participating teams in Mexico are all attempting to qualify for Rio from North, Central America and Caribbean Volleyball Confederation regional event, with the exception of the U.S. (already qualified).

The semi-finals will be held on Oct. 09.

Canadian Roster:
#1  TJ Sanders, London, ON
#2  Gordon Perrin, Creston, BC
#3  Dan Lewis, Oakville, ON
#5  Rudy Verhoeff, Calgary, AB
#6  Justin Duff, Winnipeg, MB
#8 Adam Simac, Ottawa, ON
#9  Dustin Schneider, Brandon, MB
#10 Toon Van Lankvelt, Rivers, MB
#11 Daniel Jansen Vandoorn, Langley, BC
#14 Max Burt, Gander, NL
#15 Fred Winters, Victoria, BC
#18 Nicholas Hoag, Sherbrooke, QC
#19 Blair Bann, Edmonton, AB
#22 Steven Marshall, Abbotsford, BC

Glenn Hoag, head coach,
Vincent Pichette, assistant coach
Larry McKay, assistant coach
Julien Boucher, team manager
Jean-Sebastien Hartell, athletic therapist
Murat Haktanir, statistician