2017 Winter Universiade

OTTAWA (OUA/CIS) – Ontario University Athletics, in conjunction with Canadian Interuniversity Sport, announced Friday that Brett Gibson from Queen’s University has been appointed head coach of Canada’s men’s hockey entry for the 2017 Winter Universiade in Almaty, Kazakhstan (Jan. 29 – Feb. 8).

2017 Winter Universiade official website: www.almaty2017.com

Canada will be represented at the biennial tournament by OUA players and coaches, as part of a conference rotation that has seen each of three CIS men’s hockey leagues sport the maple leaf jersey since 1997. In three previous appearances at the event, OUA standouts have captured a pair of bronze medals (2011, 1999) and finished fifth on one occasion (2005).

Gibson is entering his 10th campaign as Queen’s head coach in 2015-16, having led the Gaels to eight consecutive playoff appearances and a 114-105-31 regular season record. Named the OUA East and CIS coach of the year in 2013-14, he has also been a strong leader within the OUA Coaches Association, serving as vice-president for six years and as president the past three.

“It’s a true privilege and honour to have the opportunity to lead Canada in men’s hockey at the 28th Winter Universiade,” Gibson said. “The opportunity to coach the best players in OUA against the best the world has to offer is an exciting challenge that we will be prepared for. I look forward to the opportunity to compete at the highest level our student-athletes can compete in on the international stage.”

“Coach Gibson has proven himself to be an exceptional leader and great coach within OUA and I can’t think of a better individual to lead our men’s hockey team to gold in 2017,” said Gord Grace, chief executive officer of OUA.

Rounding out the coaching staff for the Almaty Games are general manager and associate coach Brian Bourque from the University of Waterloo, as well as assistant coaches Craig Duncanson from Laurentian and Marty Johnston from Carleton. It will mark the second tour of duty for Bourque at the Universiade as he was general manager of the 2011 bronze medal-winning squad.

Athletic therapist James Sawchuk from Queen’s and equipment manager Trevor Black from Waterloo will also make the trip.

Canada has had tremendous success over the years at the FISU men’s hockey competition with an impressive 14 medals in 15 appearances, including four Universiade titles in 2013 (AUS selection), 2007 (AUS selection), 1991 (senior national team) and 1981 (University of Alberta).

At the most recent Universiade tournament last winter in Granada, Spain, a team of Canada West all-stars finished in third position behind champion Russia and silver medallist Kazakhstan.



Head Coach / Team Leader: Brett Gibson (Queen’s University)

General Manger / Associate Coach: Brian Bourque (University of Waterloo)

Assistant Coach: Craig Duncanson (Laurentian University)

Assistant Coach: Marty Johnston (Carleton University)

Athletic Therapist: James Sawchuk (Queen’s University)

Equipment Manager: Trevor Black (University of Waterloo)


2015 (Granada, Spain):                                    bronze (Canada West)

2013 (Trentino, Italy):                                     gold (AUS)

2011 (Erzurum, Turkey):                                 bronze (OUA)

2009 (Harbin, China):                                      silver (Canada West)

2007 (Turin, Italy):                                          gold (AUS)

2005 (Innsbruck-Seefeld, Austria):                  5th (OUA)

2003 (Tarvisio, Italy):                                      bronze (Canada West)

2001 (Zakopane, Poland):                               silver (AUS)

1999 (Poprad-Tatry, Slovakia):                        bronze (OUA)

1997 (Muju-Chonju, South Korea):                 bronze (Canada West)

1995 (Jaca, Spain):                                          Canada did not participate

1993 (Zakopane, Poland):                               Canada did not participate

1991 (Sapporo, Japan):                                    gold (senior national team)

1989 (Sofia, Bulgaria):                                    Canada did not participate

1987 (Strbske Pleso, Czechoslovakia):            bronze (University of Alberta)

1985 (Belluno, Italy):                                      Canada did not participate

1983 (Sofia, Bulgaria):                                    Canada did not participate

1981 (Jaca, Spain):                                          gold (University of Alberta)

1978 (Spindleruv Mlyn, Czechoslovakia):       no men’s hockey tournament

1975 (Livigno, Italy):                                       no men’s hockey tournament

1972 (Lake Placid, USA):                                silver

1970 (Rovaniemi, Finland):                             Canada did not participate

1968 (Innsbruck, Austria):                               bronze (University of Toronto)

1966 (Sestriere, Italy):                                     Canada did not participate

1964 (Spindleruv Mlyn, Czechoslovakia):       no men’s hockey tournament

1962 (Villars, Switzerland):                             Canada did not participate

1960 (Chamonix, France):                               no men’s hockey tournament


2015 (Granada, Spain):                                    Russia, Kazakhstan, CANADA

2013 (Trentino, Italy)                                      CANADA, Kazakhstan, Russia

2011 (Erzurum, Turkey):                                 Russia, Belarus, CANADA

2009 (Harbin, China):                                      Russia, CANADA, Slovakia

2007 (Turin, Italy):                                          Canada, Russia, Kazakhstan

2005 (Innsbruck-Seefeld, Austria):                  Russia, Czech Republic, Finland

2003 (Tarvisio, Italy):                                      Russia, Slovakia, CANADA

2001 (Zakopane, Poland):                               Slovakia, CANADA, Ukraine

1999 (Poprad-Tatry, Slovakia):                        Ukraine, Slovakia, CANADA

1997 (Muju-Chonju, South Korea):                 Czech Republic, Finland, CANADA

1995 (Jaca, Spain):                                          Kazakhstan, Czech Republic, Russia

1993 (Zakopane, Poland):                               Russia, Kazakhstan, Slovakia

1991 (Sapporo, Japan):                                    CANADA, USSR, Finland

1989 (Sofia, Bulgaria):                                    USSR, Czechoslovakia, Finland

1987 (Strbske Pleso, Czechoslovakia):            Czechoslovakia, USSR, CANADA

1985 (Belluno, Italy):                                      USSR, Czechoslovakia, Finland

1983 (Sofia, Bulgaria):                                    Czechoslovakia, USSR, Romania

1981 (Jaca, Spain):                                          CANADA, Finland, Japan

1978 (Spindleruv Mlyn, Czechoslovakia):       no men’s hockey tournament

1975 (Livigno, Italy):                                       no men’s hockey tournament

1972 (Lake Placid, USA):                                USSR, CANADA, USA

1970 (Rovaniemi, Finland):                             Czechoslovakia, USSR, Finland

1968 (Innsbruck, Austria):                               USSR, Czechoslovakia, CANADA

1966 (Sestriere, Italy):                                     USSR, Romania, Czechoslovakia

1964 (Spindleruv Mlyn, Czechoslovakia):       no men’s hockey tournament

1962 (Villars, Switzerland):                             Czechoslovakia, USSR, Sweden

1960 (Chamonix, France):                               no men’s hockey tournament