Brent Lakatos wins gold, Ness Murby silver on day 1 of IPC World Championships

214
brent lakatos para wheelchair
Doha, Qatar – Brent Lakatos of Dorval, Que., got the Canadian team off to a roaring start at the 2015 International Paralympic Championships (IPC). Lakatos won gold in the T53 classification wheelchair 100-metres in a Championship record time of 14.38 seconds. Ness Murby of Salt Spring Island, B.C., earned silver in the F11 classification javelin throw with a toss of 22.74-metres. Murby, the 2015 Parapan Am Games silver medallist, is a relative newcomer to the sport taking up the javelin in 2014 previously competing in power lifting competitions.

Lakatos won four gold at the last edition of the IPC World Championships in 2013, “I am really pleased with the race, I wasn’t expecting a fast time like that, it’s one of my fastest times ever, I thought the track was a little bit slow, but obviously it can’t be that bad and the conditions were great. I’m really happy.”

Ilana Dupont of Saskatoon, Sask., was fifth in the T53 200-metres in 31.85, “I wanted to be on the podium, that’s what everybody wants, considering how my season has gone it was a great race for me. I’m happy with the result.” Teammate Jessica Frotten of Whitehorse, Yk., placed seventh in the final in 33.07.

Kyle Whitehouse of St. Catherines, Ont., finished seventh in the T38 200-metres final in 24.39. “I’m a little bit tired, I tried my best and gave it everything I had.”

Jason Roberts of Toronto was seventh in the javelin F34 final, “I feel like I could have done a little bit better, being at a World Championship has shown me how far I have come, and how far I still need to go.” 

Josh Farrell of Port Elgin, Ont., placed seventh in the F20 shot put final with a best throw of 13.86-metres. “It went well considering it was my first time throwing at a world competition. I didn’t throw what I wanted to, but I know down the road that it’s there.”

Full 2015 IPC Athletics World Championships Results

Day 1 morning session highlights

In the morning session Brent Lakatos advanced to the T53 100-metres final by winning his semi-final in a seasonal best of 14.64. Kyle Whitehouse advanced to the final of the T38 200-metres final. Ilana Dupont and Jessica Frotten both advanced to the T53 200-metres final. Frotten was 3rd in her semi-final in 33.64 with Dupont finishing 3rd in her semi in 34.99.    

Canadian competitors on day 2 (Friday October 23)

Men’s 400m T34 semi-finals | 4:00 pm Doha | 9:00 am EDT
Nathan Dewitt, Surrey, BC
Austin Smeenk, Oakville, ON

Men’s 800m T37/38 semi-finals | 5:47 pm Doha | 10:47 am EDT
Mitchell Chase, Pickering, ON
Shayne Dobson, Moncton, NB

Men’s 1500m T54 semi-finals | 7:08 pm Doha | 12:08 am EDT
Josh Cassidy, Port Elgin, ON
Alexandre Dupont, Clarenceville, QC
Tristan Smyth, Maple Ridge, BC

Women’s 200m T35 semi-finals | 7:45 pm Doha | 12:45 pm EDT
Virginia McLachlan, Windsor, ON

Women’s 200m T44 semi-finals | 7:59 pm Doha | 12:59pm EDT
Marissa Papaconstantinou, Toronto, ON
Madison Wilson-Walker, Avon, ON

Women’s 100m T53 semi-finals | 8:44 pm Doha | 1:44 pm EDT
Ilana Dupont, Saskatoon, SK
Jessica Frotten, Whitehorse, YK

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!