Becky Richter claims bronze in club throw at IPC Athletics Worlds

87
becky richter

Richter throws further than her Championship record, claims bronze in the club throw 

Doha, Qatar – Becky Richter of Saskatoon, Sask., earned bronze in the women’s T51 club throw today on day three of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Athletics World Championships.. Her best toss of 15.11-metres eclipsed the Championship record that she set for her class two years ago in Lyon, France. While Richter broke her own record, so did two of her T51 competitors. 

About the competition, Richter explained, ”It went pretty well. I have definitely thrown better this year but I am very happy I was able to hold it together for the bronze medal.” 

In the final of the women’s T35 200-metres Virginia McLachlan of Windsor, Ont., ran her fastest time of the year, 34.11, to finish sixth. “It was a season’s best. I am happy with it but I see what these girls can do. I have a lot of work to do to get back to a medal position. I have the 100-metres next week and I am hoping for a medal there,” said McLachlan.

In the women’s T53 100-metres final, Ilana Dupont of Saskatoon, Sask., and Jessica Frotten of Whitehorse, Yukon, placed sixth and eighth respectively.  Of her race, Dupont said, ”I would definitely have like to finish higher than sixth. I could have got off the line faster. Other than that I am happy with the race. Now it’s time to regroup and get ready for the 400-metres.”

After taking home silver in the F11 javelin, Ness Murby of Salt Spring Island, B.C., was back competing in the discus final. She placed sixth with a best throw of 25.52-metres. “This evening was another opportunity to throw and even if I didn’t get the distance I wanted, it was a solid effort against a field that included the top eight in the world,” said Murby.

16-year old Marissa Papaconstantinou of Toronto placed seventh in the T44 200-metres final with a time 28.75. “Not the fastest race I have run but I am excited that I made the final. Now, I know what to do. It was my first time in a World Championships final.”

Competing in the semi-finals of the men’s T44 200-metres, Cody Salomons of Strathroy, Ont., placed sixth in his section and did not advance to the final. 

Initially slated to race a semi-final in the men’s T13 1500-metres, Guillaume Ouellet of Victoriaville, Que., and the other competitors will contest a straight final in two days.

Full 2015 IPC Athletics World Championships Results

DAY 4 Canadian Competition Schedule | October 25 

Men’s 400m T11 heats | 10:36 am Doha | 3:36 am EDT
Dustin Walsh

Women’s 400m T53 semi-finals | 11:08 am Doha | 4:36 am EDT
Ilana Dupont
Jessica Frotten

Men’s 200m T53 semi-finals | 12:14 pm Doha | 5:14 am EDT
Brent Lakatos
Jean-Philippe Maranda

Men’s 200m T53 FINAL | 4:00 pm Doha | 9:00 am EDT
*Brent Lakatos
*Jean-Philippe Maranda

Women’s 400m T53 FINAL | 6:21 pm Doha | 11:21 am EDT
*Ilana Dupont
*Jessica Frotten

Men’s 400m T11 semi-finals | 6:41 pm Doha | 11:41 am EDT
*Dustin Walsh

Men’s Shot put F37 FINAL | 8:06 pm Doha | 1:06 pm EDT
Kevin Strybosch

Men’s 800m T34 semi-finals | 8:18 pm Doha | 1:18 pm EDT
Austin Smeenk

Men’s 5000m T54 semi-finals | 9:24 pm Doha | 2:24 pm EDT
Josh Cassidy
Tristan Smyth

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!