Dunkerley and Foessel add to Canada’s tally on Day 5 of IPC Worlds

97
jason dun

Jason Dunkerley and guide runner Josh Karanja

Doha, Qatar – Canada added to its medal count on day five of the 2015 International Paralympic Committee (IPC) World Athletics Championships, Jason Dunkerley and guide runner Josh Karanja of Ottawa, Ont., and Renee Foessel of Orangeville, Ont., each added medals to Canada’s overall tally. Halfway through the championship Canada ranks fifteenth overall with two gold, two silver and two bronze medals.

In the men’s T11 5000-metres final, Jason Dunkerley and guide runner Josh Karanja won silver in dramatic fashion. Doha’s warm evening temperature got the better of a number of competitors including the race leaders from Brazil, who collapsed 100-metres before the finish. Dunkerley and guide Josh Karanja paced their effort well and moved from bronze to silver medal position on the final homestretch. Dunkerley commented on their effort, “I am happy how Josh and I ran. We represented ourself and our training. We wanted to win and we did the best we could. We are going back, rest and come back next year even stronger.” 

Canada added bronze to the medal count in the women’s F38 discus final. Renée Foessel won bronze throwing 30.39-metres and teammate Jennifer Brown of Calgary, Alta., was fourth with a best effort of 29.64-metres. Foessel explained, “It went absolutely amazing. I went in hoping to have the best competition I could have in terms of a personal best. I am just totally proud to be a Canadian right now. I am completely honoured. 

In the men’s F34 shot put Jason Roberts of Toronto, Ont., placed sixth with a best of 9.94-metres while Kyle Pettey of Brampton, Ont., took eighth with 8.75-metres.

Guillaume Ouellet of Victoriaville, Que., set a new Canadian record on his way to a sixth place finish in the men’s T13 1500-metres final. Ouellet’s time of 3:58.95 improved on his previous all-time best of 4:01.32. 

In the women’s T53 800-metres semi-finals, Ilana Dupont of Saskatoon, Sask., and Jessica Frotten of Whitehorse, Yukon finish seventh and eighth in their respective sections, neither will advance to the final. 

Full 2015 IPC Athletics World Championships Results

Day 6 Canadian Competition Schedule | October 27

Men’s Long jump T11 FINAL | 9:33 am Doha | 2:33 am EDT
Richard Carr 

Women’s Shot put F53 FINAL | 9:55 am Doha | 2:55 am EDT
Pamela LeJean 

Men’s 400m T53 semi-finals | 10:22 am Doha | 3:22 am EDT
Brent Lakatos
Jean Philippe Maranda 

Men’s 400m T54 semi-finals | 10:46 am Doha | 3:46 am EDT
Alexandre Dupont 

Men’s 100m T34 semi-finals | 6:24 pm Doha | 11:24 am EDT
Nathan Dewitt
Austin Smeenk 

Men’s 400m T54 FINAL | 6:50 pm Doha | 11:50 am EDT
*Alexandre Dupont 

Women’s Discus F51 FINAL | 7:05 pm Doha | 12:05 pm EDT
Becky Richter 

Men’s 400m T53 FINAL | 7:35 pm Doha | 12:35 pm EDT
*Brent Lakatos
*Jean Philippe Maranda

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!