Victoria to host women’s rugby national championship in 2016

rugby wom

OTTAWA (CIS) – Canadian Interuniversity Sport announced Friday that the University of Victoria had been selected to host the CIS women’s rugby championship in 2016.

The national tournament, which moved from a six-team format to an eight-team competition this year, has been held in Victoria only once – in 2005 – since women’s rugby made its CIS debut in 1998.

The timing couldn’t be better for UVic to host the event as the Vikes captured the first Canada West banner in program history this season and are currently competing at the CIS tourney in Kingston, Ont.

“UVic is delighted to host this national championship. Victoria is a tremendous rugby community and will enjoy the high quality competition that is sure to take place on our campus during the 2016 CIS tournament,” said Clint Hamilton, director of Vikes Athletics & Recreation. “We appreciate the confidence CIS is showing in us to host women’s national championships in back-to-back years, after hosting field hockey this fall. It is a tremendous opportunity for us to showcase high-calibre university athletic competition and demonstrate our strong commitment to these sports.”

In addition to Victoria in 2005, Canada West institutions that have hosted the CIS women’s rugby championship include Alberta (2003), Lethbridge (2008) and UBC (2009).


2016    University of Victoria
2015    Queen’s University
2014    University of Guelph (StFX)
2013    Université Laval (Alberta)
2012    St. Francis Xavier University (StFX)
2011    Trent University (Guelph)
2010    Trent University (StFX)
2009    University of British Columbia (Lethbridge)
2008    University of Lethbridge (Lethbridge)
2007    Western University (Lethbridge)
2006    Western University (StFX)
2005    University of Victoria (Western)
2004    AUS – Halifax (Western)
2003    University of Alberta (Alberta)
2002    University of Toronto (Alberta)
2001    University of Ottawa (Alberta)
2000    Bishop’s University (Alberta)
1999    University of Guelph (Alberta)
1998    McMaster University (Guelph)