vks bb new gym

OTTAWA (CIS) – Canadian Interuniversity Sport announced Monday that the University of Victoria and University of Regina had been selected to host the ArcelorMittal Dofasco CIS women’s basketball championship in 2017 and 2018, respectively.

The national tournament has been held in Victoria only once in the past, back in 1993, while Regina was the site of the competition in 1979, 2009 and 2013.

“We are very excited to be bringing back the CIS women’s basketball championship to Victoria. This will be the first national championship in our new performance gymnasium which we feel is ideally suited to host this event,” said Clint Hamilton, director of Vikes Athletics & Recreation. “UVic appreciates the confidence CIS is showing in us to host two significant women’s national championships in 2016-17. Hosting women’s rugby and basketball, after women’s field hockey this fall, is a tremendous opportunity for us to showcase high-calibre university athletic competition and demonstrate our strong commitment to these sports.”

“We are thrilled and honoured to be selected as the host for the 2018 CIS women’s basketball championship. It is a privilege to welcome the best women’s basketball players in the country to our campus and we take the responsibility of hosting this event seriously,” said Curtis Atkinson, acting athletic director at the U of R. “We look forward to delivering an athlete-centered championship that will be memorable for all athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers, and spectators. As demonstrated in 2009 and 2013, I know the University and community will show great support for this high-profile event and that it will have a tremendous impact on our community.”

The Victoria Vikes and Regina Cougars are perennial contenders in the Canada West conference.

The Vikes are the most decorated program in both Canada West and CIS history, with 17 conference titles and nine national crowns to their credit. Victoria last hoisted the coveted Bronze Baby Trophy in 2003.

The Cougars, who captured their lone CIS banner in 2001, have been one of the top teams in Canada West in recent years, claiming back-to-back league titles in 2012-13 and 2013-14. Regina was ranked seventh in the first national coaches’ poll of the new season, which was released last Tuesday.

Before the event heads out West, the 45th ArcelorMittal Dofasco CIS championship will be staged at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton this winter, from March 17 to 20.

The Windsor Lancers are reigning five-time national champions and would set an all-time record should they triumph for the sixth straight year.

NOTE: The specific dates for the 2017 and 2018 CIS tournaments – which will be held in March – will be announced at a later date.


2018 University of Regina
2017 University of Victoria
2016 University of New Brunswick
2015 Université Laval (Windsor)
2014 University of Windsor (Windsor)
2013 University of Regina (Windsor)
2012 University of Calgary (Windsor)
2011 University of Windsor (Windsor)
2010 McMaster University (Simon Fraser)
2009 University of Regina (Simon Fraser)
2008 University of Saskatchewan (UBC)
2007 Memorial University (Simon Fraser)
2006 University of New Brunswick (UBC)
2005 University of Winnipeg (Simon Fraser)
2004 University of Winnipeg (UBC)
2003 McMaster University (Victoria)
2002 McMaster University (Simon Fraser)
2001 University of Alberta (Regina)
2000 University of Alberta (Victoria)
1999 Lakehead University (Alberta)
1998 Lakehead University (Victoria)
1997 Lakehead University (Manitoba)
1996 Université Laval (Manitoba)
1995 Lakehead University (Winnipeg)
1994 University of Calgary (Winnipeg)
1993 University of Victoria (Winnipeg)
1992 University of Prince Edward Island (Victoria)
1991 Université Laval (Laurentian)
1990 University of Toronto (Laurentian)
1989 Laurentian University (Calgary)
1988 University of Lethbridge (Manitoba)
1987 Université Laval (Victoria)
1986 University of Winnipeg (Toronto)
1985 Bishop’s University (Victoria)
1984 University of Manitoba (Bishop’s)
1983 University of Manitoba (Bishop’s)
1982 University of Saskatchewan (Victoria)
1981 University of Guelph (Victoria)
1980 Dalhousie University (Victoria)
1979 University of Regina (Laurentian)
1978 University of Calgary (Laurentian)
1977 University of Calgary (Laurentian)
1976 University of Guelph (Laurentian)
1975 University of New Brunswick (Laurentian)
1974 University of Winnipeg (UBC)
1973 McGill University (UBC)
1972 University of Saskatchewan (UBC)