VICTORIA, B.C. – At the end of each year the University of Victoria Vikes celebrate past and present athletes, staff and community members at the Celebration of Champions and UVic Sports Hall of Fame banquet. Vikes Athletics and Recreation are putting out a call for nominations for the Hall of Fame in all categories – athlete, team, coach, builder or administrator. Inductees will be added to the newly-unveiled Lynda and Murray Farmer Walk of Excellence.


The goals of the UVic Sports Hall of fame are focused around honouring outstanding contributions of athletes who have enhanced the University’s image and reputation through sport or recreation, preserving and recording the history and tradition of sport at the university, promoting sport at UVic and providing fundraising opportunities for the Athletics and Recreation department.

Athletes, whether varsity, community or recreational, can be nominated, as well as any varsity team or coach. The builder/administrator category is focused on an individual who has made a significant contribution to the development or enhancement of a Vikes athletics program. This category typically excludes varsity coaches. A full list of nomination criteria can be reviewed in the terms of reference.

Each year nominations are reviewed by a large selection committee that is made up of the director of Athletics and Recreation, manager of athletics, alumni representatives, a media representative, a varsity coach as well as select community representatives.

The UVic Sports Hall of Fame has been in existence since 2002 and has since inducted a variety of well-known coaches, builders and athletes. The inaugural class included Vikes basketball coaching legends Ken and Kathy Shields, as well as rugby player Gareth Rees, Olympic rower Lorne Loomer and soccer’s Wally Milligan in the builder category.

Since then six teams and a total of 40 individuals have been inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame.

Most recently, the Vikes honoured women’s field hockey Olympian Milena Gaiga, men’s basketball stand out Phil Ohl and international swimmer Christin Petelski.

The 2016 Celebration of Champions event will take place at the Victoria Conference Centre on March 30.

The nomination committee is currently accepting nominations via e-mail or mail to Ali Lee, Vikes Communications Officer, at vicvikes@uvic.ca or mail to Room A245, CARSA Building, PO Box 1700 STN CSC, Victoria, B.C., V8W 2Y2. Please note that nominations are accepted on an on-going basis and those not considered for 2015-16 will be kept for future consideration, while nominations from previous years are also still in consideration.

For further information visit the UVic Sports Hall of Fame website.