Greg Westlake has been named team captain

189
sledge hky can

Steve Arsenault, Tyler McGregor to serve as alternate captains when team competes in Turin

CALGARY, Alta. – Canada’s National Sledge Team will play in the International Ice Sledge Hockey Tournament in Turin, Italy, Dec. 7-12 at the Palaghiaccio Tazzoli. In total, 19 players will represent Canada for the first international competition of the season. Canada’s National Sledge Team roster includes two goaltenders, six defencemen and 11 forwards.

Oakville, Ont., native Greg Westlake has been named team captain, while Steve Arsenault (Spruce Grove, Alta.) and Tyler McGregor (Forest, Ont.) will serve as alternate captains.

Canada’s National Sledge Team will face Korea in a pre-tournament game on Saturday (1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT) before it opens the tournament on Monday, Dec. 7 against the Koreans (4 a.m. ET/1 a.m. PT). On the following day, Canada faces host team Italy (4 a.m. ET/1 a.m. PT) before ending the preliminary round on Wednesday, Dec. 9 against Norway (9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT).

The top team in preliminary round will play against the fourth-place team in one semifinal, and the second-place team will face the third-place team in the other semifinal. Both games are scheduled for Friday, Dec. 11.

The gold-medal and bronze-medal games will be played on Sat. Dec. 12 at 4 a.m. ET/1 a.m. PT and 7 a.m. ET/4 a.m. PT, respectively. 

 

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!