field hky women

Vancouver, BC – Canada’s Women’s National Field Hockey Program has named its National Team and development squad rosters for the upcoming 2016 competition period.

In total, 53 athletes have been named to three squads: the Women’s National Team (WNT), Senior Development Squad (SDS), and Junior Development Squad (JDS). 

Each of the 12 athletes named to the Women’s National Team competed at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto where the Canadian women won bronze this past summer.

The National Team is led by veterans Thea Culley (Rossland, BC), Kate Gillis (Kingston, ON), Danielle Hennig (Kelowna, BC), and Abigail Raye (Kelowna, BC), who combine for more than 520 senior international matches played for Canada.

Also named to the WNT roster is 21 year-old forward Hannah Haughn, who is two matches shy of 100 in her senior career and will become the youngest Women’s National Team athlete ever to reach the milestone. Stephanie Norlander, a 19 year-old forward from North Vancouver also makes the jump to the National Team from the SDS and is the youngest member of the National Team. 

The Senior Development Squad includes a group of athletes who have a wealth of experience and also competed at the 2015 Pan Am Games, including Shanlee Johnston (Vancouver, BC), Holly Stewart (North Vancouver, BC), and Amanda Woodcroft (Waterloo, ON). 

All senior athletes will centralize and train full-time in Vancouver in the New Year. Joining the full-time National Training Centre for the first time is a group of seven JDS athletes who will centralize with the senior athletes.

Among those junior athletes is Waterloo’s Nikki Woodcroft (the younger sister of Amanda), formerly of the University of Toronto Varsity Blues in Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS); Hamilton’s Hannah Eborall, a 2015 Under-18 Women’s National Champion with Team Ontario; and 17 year-old Thora Rae (Vancouver, BC).

The centralized JDS also comprises of athletes with senior experience, including Priya Randhawa (Surrey, BC) and Lauren Logush (Richmond Hill, ON).

In total, 33 athletes from across the country are named to the Junior Development Squad.

2016 Women’s National Team 

Name Position Hometown Caps
Abigail Raye Defender Kelowna, BC 139
Brienne Stairs Midfielder Kitchener, ON 84
Danielle Hennig Defender Kelowna, BC 103
Hannah Haughn Forward North Vancouver, BC 98
Kaitlyn Williams Goalkeeper White Rock, BC 70
Karli Johansen Defender North Vancouver, BC 52
Kate Gillis Forward Kingston, ON 139
Madeline Secco Midfielder Victoria, BC 66
Natalie Sourisseau Midfielder Kelowna, BC 82
Sara McManus Defender Tsawwassen, BC 92
Stephanie Norlander Forward North Vancouver, BC 32
Thea Culley Forward Rossland, BC 142























2016 Senior Development Squad

 Name Position Hometown Caps
Alex Thicke Midfielder North Vancouver, BC 22
Alison Lee Defender Toronto, ON  
Amanda Woodcroft Midfielder Waterloo, ON 35
Beckett Frisch Goalkeeper Calgary, AB 6
Holly Stewart Forward North Vancouver, BC 35
Kathleen Leahy Defender Victoria, BC 18
Rosie Beale Defender Victoria, BC 8
Shanlee Johnston Defender Vancouver, BC 35

2016 Junior Development Squad – Centralized

Name Position Hometown Caps
Alexis de Armond Midfielder Victoria, BC  
Hannah Eborall Defender Beamsville, ON  
Lauren Logush Goalkeeper Richmond Hill, ON 22
Shannon Pereira Midfielder Scarborough, ON  
Margaret Pham Forward Mississauga, ON  
Priya Randhawa Forward Surrey, BC 1
Rowan Harris Goalkeeper Ottawa, ON  
Thora Rae Forward Vancouver, BC  
Nikki Woodcroft Forward Waterloo, ON  

2016 Junior Development Squad

Name Province
Abbey Maclellan PEI
Adrienne Houle ON
Alexis de Armond BC
Anna Mollenhauer BC
Ashley Mendonca ON
Brie Ricker BC
Cailean Meredith BC
Cassandra Mascarenhas ON
Dekota Chan BC
Ellie Cookson ON
Emma Wingrave ON
Hannah Eborall ONT
Isabella Fraser BC
Jaslan Stirling ON
Jordyn Faiczak ON
Katarina Angus BC
Kayla Sliz ON
Laura MacLachlan BC
Lauren Logush ON
Lindsay Cole BC
Margaret Pham ON
Nicky Bajus BC
Nicole Godman BC
Nikki Woodcroft ON
Priya Randhawa BC
Rebecca Plouffe ON
Robin Fleming BC
Rowan Harris ON
Samantha Gomes ON
Samantha McIlwrick BC
Sara Goodman BC
Shannon Pereira ON
Thora Rae BC