Field set for 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships


Vancouver, BC (December 8, 2015) – Three junior teams have qualified for the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships, completing the field for the event being staged in Kamloops from December 29, 2015 to January 3, 2016.

The event will feature eight junior women’s teams and eight junior men’s teams playing for the chance to travel to Stratford, Ontario, January 23-31 for the 2016 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Curling Championships.

The three final teams to qualify were Team Love, from Vernon Curling Club, Team Harvey from Vernon Curling Club and Team Buchy from Kimberley Curling Club, who all qualified at playdowns over the weekend (Dec 5-6).

Two teams that qualified feature daughters of rivals from the men’s game. Team Harvey is made up of Skip Winter Harvey, Third Jaelyn Cotter, Second Megan McGillivray and Lead Cassidy Schwaerzle. The team is coached by BC Men’s Champion (and Jaelyn’s father) Jim Cotter. Team Buchy, from Kimberley Curling Club, with Skip Alysha Buchy, Third Kaila Buchy, Second Haylie Farquhar and Lead Arissa Toffolo, is coached by Tom Buchy (Alysha and Kaila’s father), a two-time BC Mixed Champion who is regularly a contender in the BC Men’s Championship.

Junior men’s team, Team Love, made up of Skip Thomas Love, Third Eric Colwell, Second Brendan Chapple and Lead Johnathan Schwartz, is coached by Dean Chapple. They were undefeated in playdowns in Vernon over the weekend to earn the final berth into the junior men’s championship.

In November, seven berths were decided at Coastal Playdowns at Port Moody Curling Club, one junior women’s team qualified at Northern Playdowns in Prince George and a Kootenay junior men’s team qualified without having a playdownFour teams previously qualified because of their success on the BC Junior Curling Tour.

The championships will be two eight-team round robins running simultaneously at Kamloops Curling Club from December 29, 2015 to January 3, 2016.

The junior men’s and junior women’s finals will be televised on Sportsnet on January 3. Visit for the TV schedule.

On the junior men’s side, Team Henderson (Victoria), Team Kiss (Royal City), Team Carpenter (Royal City), Team Croteau (Victoria/Kerry Park) qualified through playdowns. Team Bartlett (Grand Forks/Invermere) qualified without having a playdown.

On the junior women’s side, Team Coulombe (Victoria), Team Loken (Delta Thistle), Team Jensen (Tunnel Town/Juan de Fuca/Parksville), and Team Connell (Prince George) qualified through playdowns.

Teams Tardi (Langley), Daniels (Royal City), McCrady (Royal City) and Brown (Kamloops) qualified through their success on the BC Junior Curling Tour.

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to