2015 WORLD JUNIOR A CHALLENGE BEGINS IN COBOURG

90
Hockey Canada Logo

Single-game tickets and full-tournament packages still available

 

COBOURG, Ont. – The first puck is ready to drop at the 2015 World Junior A Challenge. Five of the six competing teams will be in pre-tournament action Friday night as a warm-up for the tournament, which runs Dec. 13-19 at the Cobourg Community Centre in Cobourg and Iroquois Park Sports Centre in Whitby.

Team Canada West will be the first Canadian team to see action, taking on the Czech Republic in the tournament-opener Sunday, Dec. 13 at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT in Cobourg, while Team Canada East will make its 2015 debut that night when it faces Switzerland at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT in Whitby.

“The communities of Cobourg and Whitby have come together to welcome the 2015 World Junior A Challenge, and we couldn’t be more proud of the support we have received from volunteers and fans in these two towns,” said Kirk Lamb, president of the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL). “We look forward to delivering a great team- and fan-experience over the next week.”

Single-game tickets are now available for the tournament, and full-tournament ticket packages in both Cobourg and Whitby, including the gold-medal game, are still available through the Hockey Canada website.

This year marks the 10th edition of the World Junior A Challenge – executed as part of a partnership between Hockey Canada and the CJHL. The event visits Ontario for the first time since its inception in 2006. Two Canadian teams and four international squads will form the two groups of three teams.

All preliminary-round games, quarter-finals, semifinals and the bronze-medal game can be viewed live through FASTHockey webcasts at www.hockeycanada.ca/wjac.

The gold-medal game is scheduled for Saturday, Dec. 19 at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT and will be broadcast by TSN and RDS, the official broadcasters of Hockey Canada – check local listings for details. 

Seven of the nine gold-medal games at the World Junior A Challenge have featured at least one Canadian team. Team Canada West won gold at the first two tournaments, in 2006 and 2007, and also took the top prize in 2011. The team also earned silver in 2008, 2009 and 2012, and won bronze in 2013. Team Canada East earned silver medals in 2006, 2007, 2010 and 2011, and claimed bronze in 2008.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!