kadeisha soccewr wom

Canada has qualified for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Papua New Guinea 2016. Undefeated after four matches at the 2015 CONCACAF Women’s Under-20 Championship, Canada won their spot in the global finals after a 5-4 win on kicks from the penalty mark gainst Mexico.

In the first of two CONCACAF semi-finals on Friday 11 December, CONCACAF rivals Canada and Mexico played to a 0:0 draw after 120 minutes. The combination of a Rylee Foster save along with successive goals by Bianca St-Georges, Vital Kats, Taylor Pryce, Mika Richards, and Victoria Pickett was the difference against Mexico.

This marks the seventh time Canada has qualified for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup. With their ticket booked, Canada will now play for a CONCACAF trophy in two days in the Sunday 13 December Final Match at Estadio Olimpico Metropolitano (18.00 local / 19.00 ET / 16.00 PT).

“It’s such a surreal feeling, I am ecstatic,” said Victoria Pickett who fired the winning kick. “I was very nervous, but my teammates were helping me.”

Through four matches, Canada is perfect in the back end, conceding no goals after 390 minutes played.

“I’ve never experienced such a tight-knit backline‎,” said goalkeeper Rylee Foster, who stopped one shot in the kicks from the penalty mark. “We have a great relationship, so without them we wouldn’t be goalless.”

Up next, Canada will face USA in the Sunday CONCACAF Final Match. USA advanced to the Final Match after winning 7:0 over Honduras in the second CONCACAF semi-final on Friday night.

“By getting to the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup and getting to the CONCACAF Final, it shows that the program – the National Excel, the Regional Excel, our national U-17 team, our national U-20 team – it is working,” said U-20 coach Daniel Worthington. “This is a step in the right direction, a step in the right direction for our Canadian Women’s National Team.”

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup Papua New Guinea 2016 runs next year from 13 November to 3 December. ‎Already qualified are Canada, USA, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Japan, Korea DPR, Korea Republic, Ghana, Nigeria, Brazil, Venezuela, France, Germany, Spain, and Sweden. The 16th – and last – nation to qualify will be either Honduras or Mexico on Sunday 13 December.