sara daniels curling

Sarah Daniels

Kamloops, BC (January 2, 2016) – The battle for the B.C. curling crown rages on as junior curling teams get set for the final deciding games.

The 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships, which wrap up tomorrow at Kamloops Curling Club, will decide which junior men’s team and which junior women’s team will represent the province at nationals.

The Kamloops Curling Club rink of Corryn Brown battled back from a one point deficit to score 5 in the 10th end and grab an 11-7 victory over Team Daniels, from the Royal City Curling Club. The Daniels rink of Skip Sarah Daniels, third Marika Van Osch, second Dezaray Hawes, lead Megan Daniels and coaches Katie Witt and Ernie Daniels, will now have to play this evening for another stab at a place in the finals. 

The Brown rink, featuring third Erin Pincott, second Samantha Fisher, lead Sydney Fraser and coach Allison McInnes is still undefeated in the championship.

Team Daniels will play Sarah Loken’s Delta Thistle Curling Club rink, who ousted Victoria’s Team Coulombe in an extra end in the page 3 vs 4 playoffs this afternoon. Team Loken features skip Loken, third Catera Park, second Kylie Karoway, lead Kim Bonneau and coach Marion McNeill. Mariah Coulombe’s Victoria Curling Centre rink features third Bailey Tinkler , second Jordan Koster,   lead Sydney Brilz and coach Andrew Komlodi. The winner of tonight’s 7 p.m. will play Team Brown in the final, which airs tomorrow (Sunday) at 9 a.m.

Meanwhile, Tyler Tardi’s Langley/Royal City rink of third Daniel Wenzek, second Jordan Tardi, lead Nicholas Meister, fifth Sterling Middleton and coach Paul Tardi, have secured a bye to the final, winning their page playoff after going undefeated through round robin play. They beat the Victoria rink of Paul Henderson, last year’s provincial champions, who are now gearing up for a 7 p.m. semi-final game. The Henderson rink features third Duncan Silversides, second Benton Boychuk-Chorney, lead Timothy Henderson and coach Todd Troyer.

Team Henderson will face Team McCrady, winners of the page 3 vs 4 playoffs, from the Royal City Curling Club. The Matthew McCrady rink features third Zac Curtis, second Liam Purgavie, lead Jacob Umbach and coach Ken McCardle.

Team Love, from Vernon Curling Club, battled through two tiebreaker games to reach the page playoffs, but could not get past Team McCrady. It was a close game until the 9th end when Matthew McCrady scored four to take a 10-6 victory. The Vernon team features Thomas Love, third Erik Colwell, second Brendan Chapple, lead Johnathan Schwartz and coach Dean Chapple

The final will take place tomorrow at 2 p.m.

The winning teams will travel to Stratford, Ontario for the 2016 Canadian Junior Curling Championships, presented by Egg Farmers of Ontario. The winners of that event will go to the World Junior Curling Championships in Erzurum, Turkey.

The event at Kamloops Curling Club started on Tuesday, December 29.