Team Tardi win the 2016 BC Junior Men’s Curling Championship

team Tardi11

Team Tardi win the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Men’s Curling Championship

Silver for Team McCrady, Bronze for Team Henderson

Kamloops, BC (January 3, 2016) – Tyler Tardi has won the 2016 Tim Hortons BC Junior Men’s Curling Championship in Kamloops after defeating Matthew McCrady’s rink 8-3.

Seventeen-year-old Tardi has represented BC at the Canada Winter Games and has two BC Mixed Doubles titles under his belt, but this is his first BC Junior title. His Langley Curling Club/Royal City Curling Club rink of third Daniel Wenzek, second Jordan Tardi, lead Nicholas Meister, fifth Sterling Middleton and coach Paul Tardi, headed into the finals undefeated. 

Matthew McCrady’s Royal City rink, all aged 16, played a great game. But a well-placed Tardi guard in the seventh end forced McCrady to attempt a complicated shot, giving Team Tardi a steal of three and setting the stage for Tardi’s win.

Team McCrady, with third Zac Curtis, second Liam Purgavie, lead Jacob Umbach and coach Ken McCardle, headed into the playoffs as the third-placed team, but played really well under pressure. They defeated Team Love in the 3 vs 4 page playoffs and then ousted defending champions Team Henderson in the semis. The Victoria rink of Paul Henderson, featuring third Duncan Silversides, second Benton Boychuk-Chorney, lead Timothy Henderson and coach Todd Troyer have been awarded the bronze medals.

Tyler Tardi, 17, and his teammates Daniel, 21, Jordan, 19, Nicholas, 19, and Sterling, 17, have also earned a berth into the BC Men’s Championship in Nelson February 10-14. 

Earlier in the day, Sarah Daniels’ Royal City Curling Club rink won the BC Junior Women’s Curling Championship with a decisive score of 11-3, ousting defending champions Team Brown.

Team Daniels, with skip Sarah Daniels, third Marika Van Osch, second Dezaray Hawes, lead Megan Daniels, managed to score 5 in the fourth end and steal one in the fifth end to gain a comfortable lead early on.

On their way to the final, Team Daniels, coached by Katie Witt and Ernie Daniels, had played Sarah Loken’s Delta Thistle Curling Club rink, beating them 9-4. Team Loken, an under-16 team featuring skip Loken, third Catera Park, second Kylie Karoway, lead Kim Bonneau and coach Marion McNeill, were awarded the bronze medals. 

Team Tardi and Team Daniels will travel to Stratford, Ontario, for the 2016 Canadian Junior Curling Championships, presented by Egg Farmers of Ontario. The winners of that event will go to the World Junior Curling Championships in Erzurum, Turkey.

The event at Kamloops Curling Club started on Tuesday, December 29.

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to