Field is set for the 2016 BC Men’s Curling Championship

Curl BC Colour Logo

Nelson, BC (January 11, 2016) Three teams have earned the final berths for the 2016 Canadian Direct Insurance BC Men’s Curling Championship in Nelson.

The event, which takes place in Nelson from February 10-14, will feature 16 men’s teams vying for their chance to represent B.C. at the Tim Hortons Brier in Ottawa.

The teams were among the seven teams that travelled to Salmon Arm over the weekend (January 8-10) to take part in the final open playdown event to try to lock up their trip to the BC Championship.

Two Vancouver Island teams, Team Montgomery and Team Jackson qualified. They were joined by Team House, from Richmond, to complete the field.

Team Montgomery were the first to qualify by capturing the A event, with three straight wins. The team, of Skip Jason Montgomery, Third Miles Craig, Second Cameron De Jong, and lead Dave McGarry,  represent Victoria Curling Centre, but two of the team members (Montgomery and Craig) hail from Shawnigan Lake and also curl at Duncan Curling Club.

Team Jackson, also from Victoria Curling Centre, grabbed the second spot with their only loss against Team Montgomery. Skipped by Glen Jackson, the team also features Third Andrew Komlodi, Second Corey Chester and Lead Joel Cave.

The third and final team to qualify was Team House. The team of Skip Will House, Third Kelly McQuiggan, Second Greg Davis and Lead Thomas Sayer will represent Richmond Curling Club at the Nelson event.

Ten teams had previously qualified at regional playdowns in December. In addition, Team Cotter, from Kelowna/Vernon, earned a trip back to provincials as the defending champions, along with the top two CTRS (Canadian Team Ranking System) points winners, Team Joanisse and Team Geall (both from Royal City Curling Club).

The teams that qualified in regional playdowns include Team Buchy, from Kimberley Curling Club, Team Ducharme, from Creston Curling Club, Team Richard, from Kelowna Curling Club, Team Longworth, from Vernon Curling Club, Team Craig, from Victoria Curling Centre, Team Dangerfield, from Victoria Curling Centre, Team Johnson, from Royal City Curling Club, Team Martyn, from Royal City Curling Club, Team Schneider, from Vancouver Curling Club and Team Wenzek, from Langley/Royal City Curling Clubs.

Team Wenzek had qualified for the BC Men’s event as a five-player team skipped by Tyler Tardi, but Tardi and the team’s fifth, Sterling Middleton, will be travelling to Norway for the Youth Olympics during the event. The team will now be playing as a three-player team of Daniel Wenzek, Jordan Tardi and Nicholas Meister.  

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to