Guest coaches named for CJHL Prospects Game

Guest coaches CJHL Prospects Game

The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) and the BCHL are pleased to announce popular Vancouver Canucks alumni and BCHL luminaries Orland Kurtenbach and Darcy Rota will be guest coaches at the CJHL Prospects Game, Jan. 26 at South Surrey Arena.

The original Vancouver Canucks captain, Kurtenbach will join head coach Brandon West of the Salmon Arm Silverbacks and run the bench for Team West. Rota, who played 289 of his 794 NHL games with the Canucks, will join Team East head coach Nick Greenough of the Valley Junior A Wildcats of the Maritime Junior Hockey League.

Kurtenbach’s BCHL experience came as head coach of the Richmond Sockeyes where he won a Centennial Cup national Junior A title in 1987. He later coached in Chilliwack and was also the league’s director of community relations from 2003 to 2007.

“I’m honoured to be a part of this event and I look forward to helping Brandon and the players in any way I can,” said Kurtenbach. “When I was a BCHL coach, it was incredibly rewarding to see players move on to college and success in life; this will be another chance to play a small part in that path.”

Rota started the Coquitlam Express franchise in 2000 and helped guide them to a league title and RBC Cup national championship in 2006 and another BCHL title in 2014, which was his final year with the club.

“I’m thrilled I’ll be behind the bench working with Nick and these great young players,” said Rota. “A lot of scouts will be there watching so it’s a big night for these guys and I think it will be a great show for the fans as well.”

Having these two individuals, who have each given so much of themselves to the advancement of Junior A hockey, is a fitting tribute and further cements the Prospects Game as a highlight on the hockey calendar.

“On behalf of the CJHL, John Grisdale and the BCHL and Ronnie Patterson and the Surrey Eagles, we are extremely thrilled to have Orland and Darcy as part of this prestigious event,” said CJHL President Kirk Lamb. “Both of these men have had a significant impact on the Junior A game and the BCHL and we can’t think of any two people more deserving.”

Roster for Team East and West



Kurtis Chapman              Olds Grizzlys (AJHL)
Matt Murray                      Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL)


Dennis Cholowski             Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL)
Dante Fabbro                     Penticton Vees (BCHL)
James Miller                       Olds Grizzlys (AJHL)
Brinson Pasichnuk           Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL)
Dean Stewart                     Portage Terriers (MJHL)
Cory Thomas                      Flin Flon Bombers (SJHL)


Noah Bauld                         Lloydminster Bobcats (AJHL)
Kyle Betts                            Powell River Kings (BCHL)
Brandon Biro                      Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL)
Colin Grannary                  Merritt Centennials (BCHL)
Blake Hayward                  Coquitlam Express (BCHL)
Tyson Jost                           Penticton Vees (BCHL)
Jesse Lansdell                    Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL)
Kohen Olischefski            Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL)
Riley Smith                          Olds Grizzlys (AJHL)
Jeffrey Stewart                 Surrey Eagles (BCHL)
Troy Van Tetering            Lloydminster Bobcats (AJHL)
Justin Young                       Whitecourt Wolverines (AJHL)



Michael Botiz                     Oakville Blades (OJHL)
Colton Point                       Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL)


Caleb Boman                     Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL)
Matthew Cairns                Georgetown Raiders (OJHL)
Sam Dunn                           Cobourg Cougars (OJHL)
Owen Grant                       Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL)
Matthew Thom                 Georgetown Raiders (OJHL)
Derek Topatigh                 Orangeville Flyers (OJHL)


Josh Dickinson                   Georgetown Raiders (OJHL)
Jack Jeffers                         Orangeville Flyers (OJHL)
Noah Jordan                       St. Michael’s Buzzers (OJHL)
Luke Keenan                      Whitby Fury (OJHL)
Sam King                              Yarmouth Mariners (MHL)
Josh Kosack                        Oakville Blades (OJHL)
Édouard Michaud            Inouk de Granby (LHJQ)
Brett Murray                      Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL)
Makail ParkeR                   South Shore Lumberjacks (MHL)
Cameron Searles              St. Michael’s Buzzers (OJHL)
Ben Sokay                           Wellington Dukes (OJHL)
Michael Larose                  Cumberland Grads (CCHL)

Scott Harrigan
Your #1 source for community and amateur sports related news on Vancouver Island, British Columbia and beyond! Send stories to