RCA Announces Athlete of the Year Recipients

row can

OTTAWA, January 30, 2016 – Today, Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA), alongside corporate partners Immunotec and Pride Mobility, announced the four recipients of the Athlete of the Year Award. This award recognizes rowers in the categories of Senior, Para, Under 23 and Junior. The following athletes will be formally honoured tonight at RCA’s 35th Annual Awards Dinner in Ottawa:

Cristy Nurse (Ottawa Rowing Club)
Senior Athlete of the Year, presented by Immunotec
Andrew Todd (Ottawa Rowing Club)
Para Athlete of the Year, presented by Pride Mobility
Taylor Perry (Fredricton Rowing Club)
Under 23 Athlete of the Year, presented by Immunotec
Patrick Keane (Victoria City Rowing Club)
Junior Athlete of the Year, presented by Immunotec

“We are incredibly proud of the performance of our Canadian rowers this year, both on and off the water,” said Mike Walker, president, Rowing Canada Aviron. “To narrow the recipients down to only one athlete is a difficult process when we have some many that are deserving. The sport of rowing has a bright future with the likes of Patrick and Taylor coming up through the ranks and we look forward to cheering on Cristy and Andrew in Rio this summer.”

RCA has continued to receive incredible support from our corporate partners Immunotec and Pride Mobility who are presenting partners of the Athlete of the Year awards. With the backing of these sponsors, each athlete will receive a cheque/financial contribution along with their reward to support their pursuit of excellence.

Pride Mobility has shown continued support for the para rowing program and is in in its XX year of presenting the Para Athlete of the Year Award.

“Pride Mobility congratulates Andrew Todd on being named Para Athlete of the Year after a successful season that included a bronze medal finish at the World Rowing Championships,” said Brian Fisher of Pride Mobility. “Todd’s strong work ethic and drive to compete makes him a deserved recipient of this award. Pride Mobility is excited to see what is in store for him this season!”

This year, Immunotec has provided additional support to the recipients of the Senior, Under 23 and Junior awards.

“As a partner of Rowing Canada Aviron and, most importantly, as a fan, Immunotec is honoured to present the Athlete of the Year awards to Cristy Nurse, Taylor Perry and Patrick Keane for their tremendous work, both on and off the water,” said John Molson, vice-president of research and development, Immunotec. “We are proud to be able to stand behind these incredible athletes and provide support towards their development.”

The RCA 35th Annual Awards Banquet will take place tonight, Saturday, January 30, at the Delta Ottawa City Centre following the close of RCA’s 2016 National Conference. RCA will also celebrate achievements within the rowing community including Club Achievement of the Year, presented by Pearson Dunn Insurance and recognize the work of coaches, umpires and volunteers.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!